The cure to Boredom.

in #fun6 years ago (edited)

Where it all began

It was New years eve, and I wanted to, as many others to find something that would allow myself to be productive, but also entertaining. I was the that person that would stream Netflix or Amazon prime video while I did my "work" I would listen and progressively pay more and more attention to the show or documentary that I was watching. In reality I did not get much done and I felt very unproductive and down on my abilities.

So I sat there on the sofa and considered what I could do to keep me going and make myself feel more productive. I began reading and listening to books on tape. Kindle has this great feature that allows you do download the audiobook as well. So when I wasn't reading I was listening to the story unfold. However, that option was quite costly, and being an artist and mother of two, my funds are limited.

I tried to remember what I would do during my college years, when I was tired of listening to music and wanted to look for some other venue of inspiration.

NPR

I was an avid NPR listener. I enjoyed the trivia, stories and updates that would feed my mind and leave me craving more. But ever since I moved to Germany and was busy mothering I had forgotten about the wonderful universe of NPR-ness

Untitled_Artwork (16).jpg

So I looked for podcast and found Serial. Oh my word...I was hooked. I couldn't stop. I walked around my apartment with my big bulky bluetooth headphones listening to Sarah Koenig melodic voice mesmerising me with cell phone towers and incoming calls. The whole time I was never sure was this young muslim boy guilty? Did he just have bad luck?

It was a constant roller coaster without a determined end. Still the mystery lingers about me like a annoying song that is stuck in your head.

Untitled_Artwork (17).jpg

Final thoughts

I would recommend everyone that enjoys mysteries, cliff hangers, a good narrative, in depth journalism, and unexpected turns to listen to this podcast, if you haven't already. This type of podcast is definitely geared towards documentarians and crime loving readers. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did, and if you already knew about this podcast let me know what you thought of it.

....

So this is my first post on Steemit, and I would love to hear from any of you if you enjoyed this post and what I could either add, leave out or do better.

The drawings were created by me, and I will always be posting my own illustrations to all my posts!

My next review will be about S-Town. So check back soon!

Sort:  

I haven’t been listening to NPR but I will from now on hehe..love the drawings..and yes I did enjoy the post! Keep in touch!:)

This american life is another greate podcast to listen to.

I love crime and mystery novels/films/... So i will try that podcast out. It sounds very good.

Great drawings! Keep up the good work!

It really is. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Well written 👏🏽👏🏽

Thank you kindly 😁

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sissyprints to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.