You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Communities, Onboarding and Gift Economy - Fundition Proposal for Homesteaders Co-op

in #fundition5 years ago

Thanks for putting it into perspective! I didn't realize costs of running something like this. My question than lies on the sustainability or running the operation long term... I'm guessing the revenue from the steemit account is what will sustain the costs?

Sort:  

Good question @senorcoconut! Pure passion and sweat equity have been sustaining HSCO until now. Passion and sweat will take us far but it likely won't be long term sustaining, especially if our success hinges on growing beyond what my free time and capabilities are. I haven't shared much about how much time I have put into this project (countless hours) because I am enjoying working on it. But going forward as we gain more traction I will be more transparent about my time and setting goals for sustainability. I think it will help everyone involved to understand the full picture. Steem payouts can help but we can't rely on them to sustain us because of the instability of the currency, etc. I see the steem/steempower we accrue more as a way to build our community as well as build some long term savings.