Fungi Friday - A Random Sampling From the Hills Around Salinas , California


The hiking trails I frequent are filled with fantastic fungi and I am having trouble tracking all of the different varieties!!! For some reason, I feel each one needs my attention and deserves to be photographed. I guess I'm the self-appointed PR person for these beauties. 😁

Today's post is chock-full of pretty pictures and light on information. If any of you can identify these mushrooms, I would love for you to do so in the comments below. Let's get on with the show!


1.jpg
This one, I actually did research and it's called Omphalotus olearius, commonly known as the jack-o'-lantern mushroom. These, which are poisonous to humans, can be easily confused for chanterelles which are popular edible mushrooms.

There is one particular tree that has been the host of various dramatic displays of fungi over the years. There have been oysters and lion's mane and now, jack-o'-lantern. I always make a point to check in to see what is growing on this hospitable oak.


6.jpg
This is the growth progression of the first image that I captured over a couple of weeks. Pretty impressive!


4.jpg
This sizable colony was so adorable! The tallest ones were about 2 inches tall so this was a camera on the ground moment. I found these in the parking lot at the trailhead and took them as a sign of more sightings to come. I was not wrong in my assumption.


2.jpg
I have it on good authority that these are called Puffballs and are edible. I have never seen this variety before and was excited about the find. The whole area was covered with rusty, curled up leaves which were an added bonus. They resemble cinnamon sticks, don't you think?


3.jpg
I have no idea what these are. The leaf adds so much. Is it photobombing or a shield for the shy mushroom in the back? We just don't know. 😉


5.jpg
I will leave you with this 'shroom with a view.


There you have it. I only have dozens more to show you but I will pace myself...there's always next week! 🍄



This is my contribution to #fungifriday brought to us by @ewkaw

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

Ohhhh so pretty! All of them!
Love how the first ones squeeze though the bark and they have such amazing colours :)
And the big group of the little ones. Awesome low angle shot - my favourite for shrooms.
Sorry, cant help with the other names. I just shoot them :D

Happy Fungi Friday! :))

I like that they all have their own personalities. Yes, I do plenty of shooting not knowing much of anything other than they are beautiful or interesting or...

Happy (now belated) FF to you too!

Hello @samanthajbarnes! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @samanthajbarnes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!