20 mph around a college?

in #funny8 years ago (edited)

I live next to a college. Like, directly across the street. And less than 10 feet from my bedroom window is a counseling center for the college. Anyway, the speed limit all around the college is 20 mph. I disagree with whoever made that decision. It makes sense around elementary and middle schools, because kids are stupid.

See?

And it makes sense around high schools, because those kids are still stupid, but some of them are driving.

Terrifying.

But at a college? These are adults. Allegedly. And it's not even just at certain times. It's 24 hours a day. 20 mph is the posted speed limit on these streets. Fuck that. Around grade schools it's only between certain hours. I come home from work anywhere between 1:30 and 3:30 am. And I have to go 20 punk ass miles an hour. Why? So the jazz studies major can jaywalk whenever he wants?

Just look at this asshole. Makes me sick.

Fuck him. It should be 40 mph. Minimum!

And I don't know if this happens on other streets surrounding the campus, but on the cross street I live off of, there are two spots a block apart where the college will put temporary yield signs up so these geniuses don't have to look up from their phones before they walk out into traffic to cross the street from the parking lot to the campus. Some of them have the presence of mind to look up to make sure that I see them and that I'M not on MY phone. With the way this current crop of college students has been coddled, I suspect that some of them had to learn to do that the hard way.

And I used to jazz studies example a minute ago because my neighbor's boyfriend just graduated with that useless degree, and then promptly joined the army.

40 MPH!

Sort:  

Lol, it's 20 mph around grade and high schools, because kids are stupid, it's 20 mph around college, because they're high and can't cross the road properly :-)

CG

Lol. Let them get high, but why do I have to tip toe around them? If they can sell me gas while high, they ought to be able to cross the street in regular traffic.