Goosey Lucy

in #funny7 years ago

My brother and sister in law are some of the best parents that I know. They have the sweetest son, who is now in Kindergarten. They decided it was time to have another baby. They had eggs frozen until it was time to have another little bundle. The hubs and I were discussing this on a daily basis. We talked about how many eggs they had available, then when time came, we talked about how many were fertilized. A few days later we talked about how many they implanted, then when time, we talked about how many "took". We were so excited to have another nephew and/or niece, so it was a constant topic in our house.
My daughter, L was in the 5th grade at the time and had mastered eavesdropping. She would ask questions here and there about Uncle and Aunt K and the new baby, I could tell she had more questions than she was asking, but would never come out and ask.
One day she came home from school and came straight to me in near hysterics. I told her to calm down and tell me what she was trying so desperately to spit out. She said "well I know everyone keeps telling me that my monthly time is getting close and I just knew I had started today!" I was shocked and worried, because I hadn't sent anything to school with her "just in case". I asked her what she did. She replied "Well I went to the teacher and asked to go to the bathroom" then she paused, I am just staring at her "annnnndddddd" she got a lot quieter and more timid at the next part so I just knew it was the real thing and it didn't go well. As most women know you are told about this time and kinda look forward to becoming a woman, but when the actual time comes seeing that come out of you isn't the most pleasant thing in the world. So L looked straight into my eyes and said "welllllll, mom I sat on the toilet and I pushed and pushed and pushed but all I had to do was poop" At this point I am so confused and I am sure she can see it on my face. I say "honey, why did you push?" She says "everybody kept talking about Aunt K and her eggs, and the nurse said we have an egg every month, and the chickens lay eggs, so I thought I was laying my first egg"
I tried, I really really tried but I couldn't help it. I laughed. I laughed hard. I did explain the whole human egg is different from chicken egg. When she realized why I laughed she laughed too. When the actual time came we referred to it as her golden egg, and the first thing she told me was, she didn't have to push one bit, while giggling.
It seems like I am always learning more lessons from my kids than they learn from me. Laughter is one of the best things you can teach your kids and those little ears are always on! :)

egg.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing, following you

nice topic keep it up my bro