My tragic tale of being forced to wear pants again at work

in #funny7 years ago

I knew this day would come eventually but I never believed it would actually happen.

It took me 5 years at my current job at a large corporation to finally get to the campus that everyone was jealous of. There are several different campuses around the city but this one was different. NO DRESS CODE.

The campus was full of programmers, so in order to keep them happy, they could wear whatever you wanted. Shorts? Hoodies? Sandals? Ohhh YUP. Star Wars shirts? SO MANY. It was a dream come true. I got a glimpse of what it must feel like to be Jimmy Buffett. It felt like America. It felt like freedom!

Thinking back to when I started at the company, we were getting excited at my old campus about a surprise jeans day...

I went 2 full years in this dress code-less paradise but as we all know, nothing gold can stay...

 A new campus was built nearby and all of the programmers were moved out. My team and a few others remained and awaited the arrival of a different organization....Consulting. 

Rumors were flying around that dress code might be changing because of how different this other organization was. Then all of the fancy pants, consulting nerds began to show up. My shorts held strong as there was no news about the dress code. 

Last week, my world came crashing down. 

After months of waiting in fear, the email was sent out. 

I hung this at my desk as a reminder of what transpired that day. Wearing shorts to work already seems like a distant memory.

I may be wearing jeans on Monday, but I'll still be wearing shorts in my heart....

Sort:  

a bittersweet post that certainly merited a good reward. Good work!