Should Content Creators and the Media Stop Using Clickbait?

in #gallerani6 years ago

It seems like clickbait has completely taken over most forms of media and entertainment. Everything nowadays needs some snazzy title and cover image, regardless of how relevant it is to the actual content.

I was watching a few of my favorite YouTubers recently and they talked a bit about clickbait and I kind of had some ramblings that I felt I should share here.

It's kind of hard to clickbait written posts... For the most part, when I'm writing a post, the title is actually relevant to what I'm talking about.

I can imagine though that it's much harder to make a title for a youtube video. Especially because the video may just be a vlog of 2 days and 15 different scenes that are completely unrelated.

Making every day of your life somehow super interesting and appealing to your fanbase is hard and that's the reason why clickbait is so prevalent on these platforms.

Clickbait is needed to draw someone in, but they'll stay if your content is good.

I'm unsure if clickbait is either good or bad. I think it's kind of in the middle.

I think that clickbait is a necessary evil right now. We have to just tolerate it for the time being, but I feel that there is a more effective way to distribute content online.

My prediction is that we are just a few years away from some sort of innovation when it comes to drawing an audience. I feel that there is going to be some sort of preview tool or interface that is going to make clickbait irrelevant.

Call me crazy, but that's just my opinion. Something better has to be in store.


What's your opinion on clickbait? Do you like having something interesting to click on or do you get disappointed when you click on something and it doesn't live up to the title?

Sort:  

You got a 32.96% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gallerani!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!