Game of Thrones Recap

in #game7 years ago (edited)

       Sorry if this picture is a little "too soon" for those of you who stand behind House Frey. What? You didn't think that I only talk about Blockchains and Cryptocurrency did you? 

***WARNING: Spoilers Alerts***

Season 7 - Episode 1: Dragonstone

       In it's continuous fashion,  Game of Thrones (GoT) started with quite a bang. When I say bang, I don't mean sex (which also happens alot). I mean death... and lots of it. The episode starts off with a question which I love about the show. The question: when the hell is this taking place? Is it a flashback? Or has Walder Frey somehow survived? One thing is certain though, if you are a seasoned GoT fan and felt uneasy about the wine, you knew something was coming. The location also brought a feeling of unease for us loyal fans (The Red Wedding), so we were watching and waiting for something bad to happen.

      Well, it was bad (and good). Arya Start took the face of Walder Frey, poisoned the wine that everyone drank, and they all died a slow and painful death. Wow, quite the opening. I was ready to go take a walk right then because of how intense the show was. Heck, I don't even smoke but felt like I needed a cigarette. That all subsided when the intro ended and the show was back on. Lets continue.

      The next scene takes place on the road when Arya runs into a group of overly hospitable Lannister soldiers. The phrase "overly hospitable Lannister" is quite an oxymoron which is why it feels funny coming out of my mouth. As nice as they seem, I say this for the group, I don't trust them. The scene played out for too long to not have something bigger about to take place. Granted, Ed Sheeran was one of the soldiers. Still, there is a reason that the scene lasted so long.  I thought it ended quite nicely with the soldiers laughing at Arya's comment about killing the queen because they clearly think she is joking. Little do they know, she wasn't.

       Next, we see Euron Greyjoy arrive at Kings Landing. He is a man on a mission and doesn't seem to care about much. Well, other than asking Queen Cersei to marry him. Is he crazy? He does it in front of the Mountain and her brother Jaime who clearly already has dibs (as morbid as that sounds). The scene ends with him striding off claiming that he will come back with a gift for Cersei who just recently denied his marriage proposal. I didn't see a ring, so maybe he is going to Kay Jewelers to buy a ring. Who knows, but I am excited to see this "gift".

       Next, we are in Winterfell where Jon Snow is in front of the Northern Lords doing Jon Snow stuff. His sister Sansa seems to disagree with his decision to give House Umber and Karstark back their kingdom after they took sides with Ramsey Bolton (RIP). Jon quickly puts his foot down and makes it final. God, I love Lady Mormont (badass little girl from Bear Island). I would follow her into battle any day despite her age.

       The next scene is where I recommend watching on an empty stomach. We are now in The Citadel where we witness the daily life of Samwell Tarley. I am sure he pictured The Citadel quite differently as we are exposed to his daily routine in a series of jump-cut scenes showing the gross chores he has to do. When they are all meshed together, it makes you feel a bit sick not knowing which scene is which (food or poop). Ultimately he gets a key to begin studying and finds a bit of potentially useful information (the location of dragonglass). Oh, we also see where Ser Jorah is being kept, a character that I am sure some of us forgot about.

      My favorite part this week, although not entirely action-packed for you adrenaline junkies, takes place in the Riverlands. We come back to the house where The Hound and Arya were helped by a farmer and his little girl. However, after being helped, The Hound struck the farmer and took his money. The Hound didn't think the man would survive the winter, well, he sure was right as he finds the aforementioned man and daughter dead inside. Feeling a bit of remorse and regret, The Hound gives them a proper burial. 

       The last part of the episode takes place in Dragonstone where  Daenerys Targaryen reclaims her home. Although it is something she has always wanted, I can't help but feel that she is not satisfied. This is reassured when she ends the episode with an epic three words, "shall we begin?" I can't wait to see the epic onslaught that is about to begin in the coming episodes. She better keep those dragons safe, because Bran Stark showed us that the walkers have Giants on there side. I am not sure what is going to happen next week, but I sure hope to see Arya and her wolf reunited.

Favorite quote of the week

Leave one wolf alive and the sheep are never safe. -Arya Stark


Thanks for reading, feel free to follow and I will see you next week!

@over-caffeinated