Getting Started with Warhammer 40,000

in #games6 years ago (edited)

So you're thinking about jumping into tabletop war games. Great! But where to begin? Let's assume you've chosen a sci-fi game with a huge existing player community and a wide range of different armies published by a mercurial British game company. I think this kit is a decent place to start: Getting Started With Warhammer 40,000.

cellophane.jpg

The book offers a brief overview of the armies in the Warhammer 40,000 ("40K") universe, some good painting tutorials, the basic rules, a walkthrough of how to play, and a lot of other good info. It also feels like a huge advertisement, but that shouldn't be a surprise at all. Games Workshop wants you to buy more Games Workshop plastic crack. That's why you would be interested in buying this in the first place.

primaris front.jpg
Front

primaris rear.jpg
Back

I am of two minds on the Primaris Space Marine miniature. I do like the look of the basic Primaris Marine model. I don't like the background story of the Primaris Marines. I do like the detail and design of this press-fit mini. I don't like how the standard Space Marine has been relegated to the sidelines despite being one of the most iconic soldiers of the setting. I'll probably assemble and paint this guy eventually, but I have zero interest in collecting more.

£5/$8 is a good price point if you want to dip your toes in the water. If you know someone who already plays, they can probably help you paint the mini so you can see whether you like that side of the hobby or not. It's a good way to see whether it's for you.

Sort:  

have been playing many years ago. As an anarchist the obvious choice is chaos :)

Building and painting is a lot of fun, especially when your start to realise how you should paint and gain mastery over the basic techniques. Ive got a friend who nowadays builds his models completely by himself from scrap, wire and kneadatite. Quite crazy, ill ask if I can post some pictures.

I play Orks. Pure meritocracy :D Plus, no matter how bad my scratch-builds turn out, they still look "Orky."

I may not have supported Obama's version of Change, but I must admit that Tzeentch has a certain appeal.

Orks are one of the funnest armies to build. You can really just have a blast with a huge bitz box and make just about anything.

Junk and a well-stocked bitz box are my best friends.

That's definitely a cheap way to test the waters. I had to buy it for the same of "completeness" since that model is technically a unique model not found in any of the other sets.

I suppose there's a slim chance it'll be worth $100 in 20 years if left pristine!