Privateer Press Mini Crate Unboxing #2

in #games6 years ago (edited)

Last month, I got my first Privateer Press Mini Crate. This month, my second mystery box arrived on schedule. I'll skip the packaging pics because it's basically the same as last time except for the mini inside. Let's take a look at the contents!

mini crate 2 contents.jpg

Alten van Helsing is an official alternate mini for the Alten Ashley Hordes character. Instead of an absurdly oversized blunderbuss, we have a comically huge crossbow. I dig the vampire hunter vibe. The back of the cloak also has some very impressive trim.

mini crate 2 alten cloak.jpg

Less pleasant is that nub of resin on the front cloak corner that will need to be trimmed off and filed smooth. It's the only spot it could really be though, I suppose. Otherwise, cleanup is minimal. It's a nice cast all around. I'd also prefer to have all components the same material. Metal on resin joints are a pain to glue, and the parts are small enough to make pinning the pieces difficult. The fit is good though, and he'd look pretty awesome fully assembled and painted.

You can't get this guy anymore now, because these are all limited-edition releases, but I may be open to offers to buy my Alten van Helsing with STEEM!

At the time of posting, there's still a day to get in on the Runeball Wizard next month! And if you sign up for a 6-month subscription, you can also get the Mrs. Walls bonus mini I got last month, too!

Runeball Wizard

Runeball Wizard promo image via Mini Crate

Sort:  

Pretty cool! What scale is that? I painted gaming miniatures and resin figure models before starting my current hobby of customizing sports action figures

It's supposed to be 32mm, but if that's true there are dwarves in the catalogue that are 9ft tall.

PP has poor control over their sculptors output, and pretty much everything else.

Privateer Press runs a bit bigger than some other companies. They are not the usual 25-28mm RPG minis scale, or the "28mm heroic" GW scale. It's somewhere around 32mm I think, but the style is completely different from 32mm Malifaux. Very stylized.

I think that their Mini Crate concept is an interesting subscription business model. Seems that Netflix turned the business world into a Subscription-based recurring revenue frenzy.

Netflix hardly started it. Remember the old-school cassette and VHS tape clubs? This is a lot more honest though. And unlike Netflix, I keep the mini.

Privateer Press has been SJW converged for some time now.

I saw it happen over the course of nine years from inside the company.

By the time I left they had "safe spaces" at their tournaments.

They have absolutely NO honor.

It seems like their rules have become a bit bloated too. I am very slightly acquainted with a PP author who left the company a while back to go his own way, but I suspect he is more left-leaning politically and would have embraced that aspect of the company.