#7 - The last game I have finished, Super Mario Galaxy

in #games6 years ago (edited)

SMG1-1.jpg

Hi, my dear readers. In this post I want to talk to you about a game I've had for many years, a game that I just finished yesterday. A game from 11 years ago, yes, I'm talking about Super Mario Galaxy 1, from Nintendo Wii, 2007.

SMG1-2.png

Of course, this isn't the first time I've finished it. The last one would be about five years ago, when I was only 12 years old. What did I think of it now, with a more critical eye and more experience in games and genres? Something similar to what happened to me with New Super Mario Bros Wii... that I think is a good purchase, fun for a single player, long in case I want to finish it 100%... but it's not the game of the year. And it's already quite out of date, half an hour of Super Mario Galaxy 2 was enough to make me feel like It was a thousand times better and more polished than its first part, just three years younger (Super Mario Galaxy 2 came out in 2010).

In a nutshell:

The good stuff:

Many original and different levels, with lots of personality each, many hours of play, an interesting difficulty curve, a very nice and different story, a gameplay easy to learn.

The bad part:

The technique they used to make the game larger was to force you to finish the whole game again with Luigi, so it's really like you're doing the game 100% over again, but only for one game. Also, it is terrible that on Wii in 2007 the characters only have a voice on very few occasions, especially when the game wants to tell you its story (In the end characters like Rosalina speak to you more with text snacks than with real voices), Besides, the existence of coins (an object so characteristic of the Mario universe) in this game is minimally necessary, they are only useful to recover some life, beyond that they are useless (this is something that fortunately would be corrected in the sequel).

SMG1-3.png

Do I recommend it? Of course, it's a good game for the youngest kids in the house, the decade doesn't hurt him much (the galaxies or levels still look beautiful and original), it will teach them how to operate the console controls, and will keep them entertained for many hours. Also recommended for any Mario’s fan who deigns to call himself that.

If you liked my little Review of this very old work of Nintendo's pet, please let me know what you think in the comments. Happy Saturday!