Subnautica, Undersea Adventure, Prepares Launch on Steam

in #games6 years ago (edited)

There are two places in life that have always fascinated me. Space and our oceans. I figure space is out of the question in my lifetime, so I focus a bit more on the oceans (and so far, we haven’t discovered anything “living” in space). I grew up in Northern California, Fort Bragg to be exact, and fell in love with the ocean I saw every day. I have explored various underwater worlds from Super Mario Bros to Abzu and enjoyed them all – some more than others. Now I can add Subnautica to my list of underwater exploration games to experience in my life time. Good thing Subnautica is launching on Steam this month after three years of Steam Early Access development.

Subnautica-image-1.jpg

Subnautica features support for Oculus Rift and HTC Vive so whether you own one or the other you are set. Even if you don’t own a Virtual Reality headset, Subnautica will run just fine, and be just as exhilarating, on your PC and monitor.

I am late to the game on this one. Subnautica swam, no pun intended, well under my radar for all of its development until earlier today. I would have had this article posted earlier but I spent the last half hour or so watching various gameplay videos of Subnautica on YouTube. I am now going to do my best to help as many people as possible know about this game so it is not lost to them – it is just an awesome looking adventure.

Subnautica-image-2.jpg

What is interesting about Subnautica is, it could be the first underwater survival horror game we have seen. Sure, there have been survival horror games on boats at sea, but none under the sea to my knowledge. Don’t let the cartoon looking graphics fool you, there are some evil things lurking in this underwater world, things that will stop at nothing to kill you and pick their teeth with your femur bone

Subnautica is available now on Steam

Sort:  

I can't wait for this one! Finally I get to pick up my VR Headset. I'm glad they finally made a unique SINGLE player survival game. Can't wait to pick this one up on steam.

It is available now on Steam (updated the article with a link) for about $24.95. I plan on grabbing it if they ever put it on sale. I don't have a VR headset so it is going to be straight PC for me, hopefully it is just as good though.