So I finally played FTL: The Tutorial & My Expectations

in #gaming4 years ago

Faster Than Light Is a game that keeps getting recommended to me by various people. I wanted to try it for a while, so I was excited when it was given for free on Epic Store. I wanted to try it sooner, but I kept procrastinating for some reason.

u6ahll.jpg
^ Typical game view! ^

Now, I finally tried the game. Well, I just played the tutorial so I can't give a fair comment yet, but while FTL was as complex as I expected, the experience wasn't as I thought will be.

I saw screenshots from the game often, but from these screenshots I thought that the space ship and the rooms inside it were shown in a customization screen between the main parts of the gameplay. Turns out that they were actually the main part of the game!

vy9jfi.jpg
Systems of the ship, view

In FTL you have to manage a ship and its crew while traveling along th galaxy to warn the federation fleet of the upcoming .

One notable moment I found funny as I played, was once the flame started in one of my spaceship rooms. The tutorial box told me to open the engine room's windows to drain the oxygen and stop the fire. I understood it as "bring the ships crew to the room to stop the fire." I got confused when it didn't work.

It turned out I had to click on the window and it'll open on its own. But, I did so when my crew members were in the same room and they died by the lack of oxygen. Oops!

8aaju5.jpg
The surviving crew member.
Wish I took a screenshot of them burning!

Luckily, I managed to beat the tutorial with the one remaining crew member. I thought "Did the developers foresee that some people will kill their crew members by mistake?"

So, that's my story for today, hope you enjoyed it.

I decided to place FTL higher in my backlog. I will have to finish Final Fantasy IX (which I wrote about here.) I'll write more about FTL when I get to seriously play it. I hope you enjoyed this post.

Tell me what you think in comments!


Images are screenshots of FTL's tutorial, taken by me.
Sort:  

I LOVE this game.

Thanks for replying this old post. The game has endless potential~

"Did the developers foresee that some people will kill their crew members by mistake?"

Uh... let me put it like this: I think it's not a bug, it's a feature.

I have played FTL once, didn't find it to be very good. Maybe I just had not enough catastrophies, because I reached the goal.

Haha! I only got to it because it was recommended by me a lot. From what I tell the game feature a lot of randomness so maybe you got lucky?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment