[Yu-Gi-Oh Duel Links] Memories of a Friend Event

in #gaming4 years ago

Yu-Gi-Oh Duel Links is shaping to be my longest played game on Steam. I occasionally play few duels and complete the missions. I post my updates of my experience with the game in my #ScreenshotSaturday articles.

yph1fh.jpg

For those not familiar with Yu-Gi-Oh, it's a card game like Magic in which duelists use monster, spell and trap cards to reduce the opponent's life points to zero. Duel Links is a Mobile/PC game that uses modified rules for faster duels.

Since, Duel Links is an online game, it features timed Events that last few weeks at most and they come with their unique missions & rewards. I ignore those most of the time, because I'm still a beginner player.The current event however, intrigued me.

Memories of a Friend

This event is set in the "Dark Side of Dimensions" world. (Which I wrote about here.) In the event, Seto Kaiba was finally able to duel with the Pharaoh, and their duel was represented with images from the movie.

q43tf2.jpg

The event is divided into challenges, after the beating the third challenge, Joey Wheeler in his DSOD form is unlocked. That's the part I care about. I wanted to unlock that Joey!

The playable part of the event consists of having to beat Yami Yugi over and over again to earn points and progress to the next challenge.

Dueling him costs event points which can be earned by dueling other characters. Dueling Yami's higher level decks costs more points but earns more points in the challenge meter. Well, I'm not strong enough to beat him at level 40 and above...

hlget9.jpg

So, I've been dueling Yami for the past three days, trying to unlock Joey before the deadline: the 6th of February. It was hard, but when dueling the same deck over and over you start noticing its weak points.

I also found that dueling against Yami at level 40 gives more points than winning against his level 30, so I decided to . In the end, after I dueled Yugi more than 15 times, Joey Wheeler appeared in the Duel World!

m4f853.jpg

Unlocking the character was pretty easy after ward as I had to beat him at level 10.

Yu-Gi-Oh Duel Links will become more interesting if there were many events like this one. But I don't think locking certain characters behind a timed event is a good idea so it's probably for the best not to keep doing this for all events.

For now, I'll take a break from Duel Links. I played few weeks worth of duels this time so I'll focus on playing other games with my limited gaming time.

What do you think?


All images are screenshots from the game (Steam ver.) taken by me.
Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem