Mechabuilding Steem monster card desing

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

This is a translation of the spanish version of [Mechabuilding Diseño de carta para steem monster] make by myself using google translate and my own english knowledge and some help from my mother in law. You can also check the spanish version clicking the original post name.

Hello players here's Ark today is the premier of a new section in the blog called Mechabuilding, as game-designer one of the main obligations is to create interesting ways to work with the development team to develop it and put them into practice in the game. As it is a game which was already proved in the platform. I decided that the first entrance of this section should be about steem monster.

mechabuilding 1.jpg

This is my presentation of a new idea for a new steem monster card and a new monster ability which I think it's necessary to balance some powerful combinations in the low-mana meta-game specially

level max.png

The main concept is that of an armor with a soul inside that belongs to its last carrier that died using it.

Abilities

Based on my knowledge of the enchanted armors or bewitched armors I gave it 3 abilities which I considered will adapt to the card very well

Reveal spoiler

evade icon.png
Dodge: Has an increased chance of evading Melee or Ranged attacks.

These horror-tale characters are very slippery due to the fact that they are able to separate their bodies in different parts and control them voluntary so I decided to give this ability to the card.

Reveal spoiler

shield icon.jpg
Shield: Reduced damage from Melee and Ranged attacks.

There's no much to say,it's an empty armor before being a ghost was designed to resist physical harm.

Reveal spoiler

curse icon.jpg
Curse: Attacks have a chance to apply curse. Cursed monsters will no longer be able to receive healing and also have a small chance to miss their next attacks.

It is normal for spirits, ghosts and apparitions to be able to provoke curses, their effects vary from reference to reference, but I think that being cursed prevents you from receiving the blessings of healing and reduces your accuracy in combat is something that looks pretty good and is balanced.

This is a skill designed by me, I think it would be good to make a more versatile meta game and make the pre-combat analyzes more important.

There are certain combinations of cards that are quite powerful in low mana battles.

HidraHeal

Hidraheal.png

Flesh of the forest

Flesh of the forest.jpg

These combinations use a lot of healing and at low levels where the damage of the cards is quite reduced, they are abusive. That's why I think curse ability can make people think twice before using them, making the selection phase of monsters much more tense and more interesting.

The possibility of additional miss? This effect is added to the ability because against combinations that tend not to use healing, curse would be a useless ability, to avoid an excess of power the aggregate chance is very small, but I will not talk about percentages because steem monster does not tend to do so either. At the moment I have not seen anyone say the percentage of probability that a card has to apply stun or poison.

I do not consider that this ability is only found in the death splinter, but I think that it will be the splinter where we will see it the most.

Stats

The analysis of stats was complicated try to evaluate how the stats of the epic cards that already exist in the game go up and it varies a lot from card to card so with the little that I studied I could not know what value of mana they give to each point of life, armor, damage, speed and abilities to the cards. Even so after several analyzes I managed to make a card that resembles in power to the other epic cards of the game.

Here we can see the statistics of the card in all its levels.

levels.jpg

The phantom knight is a card quite resistant to attackers of physical damage being therefore its greatest weakness is the magic damage, I am even thinking of lowering 2 life points and giving 3 points of armor to accentuate more that weakness. This is also based on the lore, since it is almost general culture that magic is what most hurts a ghost or specter.

I think it's a good addition to the death splinter since it did not have a good front line for physical damage that was not legendary, unlike all the other splinters.

The creation process

Unfortunately I do not have images of the creation process, I did it in a moment of inspiration and I do not record anything, I can edit the image from 0 and take pictures if you insist on seeing it.

The tools used were Photoshop cs6 and steem monster maker, I think that the steem monster maker tool is not complete yet, since it really can not make a card that looks exactly the same to current cards so what I got out of it was this.

level 0.png

Even so the tool is very good, I will give upvotes to @martibis Waiting for improvements in the tool for my future designs.

From there, I edited this great image of Pixiv fantasia fallen knight

akun.jpg

I edited it so that the background is similar to the steem monster cards and that the card would be closer to that cartoon style of the current cards, since the image has too much detail, it would have made a big difference with the other cards of the game, even after the editing does, probably the idea should be drawn by someone who adapts much more to the style, after seeing the drawings of @candycal in his post Steem Monsters artwork v.1 I think he could do a great job with this design.

Apart from that, I wrote history for this card, you can read it in this post. Honestly it came out quite long but I really liked the plot (is it narcissistic that I say it myself?).

With this I say goodbye players, I would like to leave me in the comments your opinion and your criticism. Is the card too powerful for the game? Is the card too weak for the game? The design is lousy, the ability will not work, are the statistics values ​​wrong? And whatever else good or bad you see, talk about it down there.

I have many more ideas of cards and abilities for steem monster thought so it will be a long saga.


steem monster.jpg

Buy you Starter pack and play steem monster now as my refered!

Sort:  

That's cool! I might start Steem Monsters soon!
|/,,

If you get to play, you can ask me any question you want, enter the server of discord de steem monster and ask what you want, we always help each other with any questions.
Discord

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!