Magmar Community Day recap - What other Shiny did I get?!

in #gaming3 years ago

thumbnail.png

Yesterday the second Community Day of this month took place, featuring Magmar. It took place from 11 am through 5 pm local time. Just like last weekend I started playing around 1 pm and was thus able to play for about 4 hours of the event. I let one of the friends I regularly walk around with know that I'd start later, and messaged him once I was ready. Then I could meet up with him shortly and we walked around in a group of 4, while keeping some distance. One person stopped for a while at some point so we didn't see him the rest of the day.

This time it wasn't raining at all, luckily! So we were able to walk around more. Although we did frequently stay in places for a bit so that had a bit of an impact on the amount of Eggs I was able to hatch.

It was partly cloudy weather in the game throughout the whole event, so we didn't get any weather boosted Magmar. This greatly reduced the chance for 100% Magmar to spawn. One person did report a wild one they caught, but we were unable to get to that one in time. That was a bit unfortunate, but I rarely get a 100% during the Community Day so I wasn't expecting to get one. It's just always a nice bonus.

We did encounter a wild 100% Spearow though! Now I have 2 of them and could make the whole evolution set if I evolve one of them to Fearow.

100 percent Spearow.png

Just like last weekend Eggs incubated during the event only required 1/4th of their hatch distance, with 2 km Eggs obtained during the event having a high chance to hatch into Magby. I didn't hatch as many Eggs as I thought I could, because sometimes we were just staying in one place for a while. But I was really surprised when I hatched this SHINY MAGBY! :D

Shiny Magby.png

Just like last time I was using the device to help with a few extra catches and spin PokéStops, which doesn't catch every Magmar of course. So I estimated about 130 ran away, but it definitely caught a lot too and then I also caught a bunch manually. With that being said I was able to catch 13 Shiny Magmar during the event. You can see them and the Shiny Magby in this next screenshot.

Shiny Magmar.png

Once the event was over it was time to start evolving some Magmar. I didn't really get any high IV Magmar from the wild catches. But I had a Shiny Encounter from a Quest, so that was my only 3* Shiny Magmar which I chose to evolve.

I evolved the Shiny Magmar first so that I could have this Shiny Magmortar Pokédex registry screenshot.

Magmortar evolution and Pokédex.png

After the event I traded some Magmar as well in hopes of getting a Lucky. Which we managed to get twice during the trades. Both of them were pretty bad IVs though for me. So I decided that I'd evolve my older Lucky Magmar that's 98% IV as the ones I got from trades after the event had lower Attack stats. Here you can see the stats for the Shiny and Lucky Magmar that I evolved.

Evolved Magmar.png

From the Special Research No Match for Magmar I also received a Magmortar encounter. You can see the encounter and its stats here.

Magmortar Special Research.png

This Magmortar from the encounter knows Thunderbolt as Charged Moved. Which is the Charged Attack from this Community Day for any Magmortar that was evolved during or up to 2 hours after the event. This move isn't particularly useful for Magmortar when it comes to Raid and Gym battles. Perhaps in PvP it might be useful if you're up against for example a Water-type Pokémon, however with its energy cost Magmortar might faint before being able to use it. At least PvP wise it might thus have a bit more use than last weekend's Flamethrower on Electivire.

How did your Community Day go? Did you evolve any Magmar for the move or did you choose to evolve them later?