Contest! Win one of 10 copies of Nex Machina

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Thanks to the good folk over at GOG.com, I have 10 copies of Housemarque's Nex Machina to give away to you lucky Steemit users.

Currently retailing for $19.29 on GOG, Nex Machina is an intense twin-stick shooter with a strong throwback to the bullet-hell-style crazy arcade shooters of yore (it has been likened to Robotron and Smash TV, among others). Learn more about the game from Housemarque themselves right here and check out the launch trailer below:

Plus, Mikael Haveri, Head of Publishing at Housemarque was kind enough to give me some of his time to discuss Nex Machina and the studio's upcoming PS4 game, Matterfall - and this conversation will be the subject of my next Interesting People interview.

So, how do I win a copy of the game?

Simple - just leave a comment below describing your idea for a cool power-up, new weapon, special armour/shield, speed booster, or whatever else you think would be a great addition to a shooter such as this. Now, extra points are given for the truly inventive ideas that have a touch of humour to them too. Anyone can think of a triple-barrel laser or a flaming force-field. I want something entertaining!

Rules:

  1. You can post as many entries as you like - just make an additional comment for each cool idea.
  2. Entries must be posted here by 12pm (midday) GMT on Sunday 30th July.
  3. I will be handing out the games via Discord, so be sure to have an account and be logged in to  https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw
  4. You have 24 hours from the end of the contest to claim the code from me (I use badastroza on Discord as well) and redeem your key via GOG.com

And if this isn't enough, I'm also giving away 10 copies of Red Baron Pack courtesy of GOG.com as part of my interview with Dynamix co-founder and Red Baron designer, Damon Slye. Hurry! Entries also close this Sunday.

Sort:  

One of the best powerups in a twin stick shooter is the one that attracts other powerups to you for a few seconds, so you can worry less about collecting coins and boxes and more on shooting aliens in the face with lasers.

Love it - nice entry!

Hey - you've won but I've not heard back. Do you use Discord? Please contact me there so I can give you the link to your free game. 🙂
Thanks

Oh! Sorry, I missed your reply. Yeah, I do, contact you there shortly.

Right! Contest over and the winners are in...

Congratulations to:

@spottyfox
@gd1551
@teslalifestyle
@tabularasta
@fitzgibbon
@algarcia
@hdmed
@naysayer

As this is a publicly accessible site and the codes are not tied to individual accounts, you'll need to message me on Discord to get your free copy. As stated in the rules, just go to https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw and message me (@badastroza there as well) and I'll send you your GOG link to redeem you code.

You'll have to do so by the end of 31st July as the codes expire, so move fast! And due to time zones, if I am not online when you message, don't worry - I'll get it at some point tomorrow and you'll get your link in the reply.

Thankyou very mush @badastroza iam in discord you remember me !!

How about an armour that allows you to absorb enemy attacks and release them as an explosive blast. The drawback is that it can overload and kill you if you try to absorb too much or too powerful of an attack.

Nice! Great idea and definitely do far in the running for a copy of the game!

Hey - please get hold of me on Discord so I can give you your game code today. Thanks!

I played a survival game recently that really chastised the heck out of you for picking the easiest difficulty. It was so unexpected...like wow this game is actually making fun of me... but hilarious. When you died it called you a baby, it actually had items specific to that difficulty that ridiculed you like Pacifier bib.

I think its a really unexplored fun thing more games that have various difficulty modes could do. It encourages you to try the harder modes and makes playing through the easy mode as you learn the game far more comical and entertaining as you deal with dying over and over again.

Sounds really cool - can you remember the name of the game? Thanks for the comment.

The game was actually a wc3 mod called "Black Forest 1.00". I image there would be a lot of reservation for a triple A title doing something like ridiculing the player as they may consider it too polarizing. To me it was just refreshing like the game had a lot personality, I could just be weird though

For a genre like bullet hell/twin stick I think it would be well received as the audience tends to be more enthusiast/hardcore.

In general the topic of tutorials/easy mode is a challenge for many developers. For games with appreciable learning curves, being less binary in the learning process was a welcome new experience I had.

Outside of that meta gameplay thought, I'm not really sure what big gameplay elements I'd like to see. I think the game is probably a candidate for speed running, so having a lot of tiny things to optimize like rewarding accuracy/not taking damage could be interesting. Also a mechanic like having your gun do slightly more damage at closer range such that you have to play faster and riskier to earn those super good clears might be cool.

Hey I just started playing it last night, it's amazing and really addictive. I know the giveaway was two months ago but I couldn't install it on my MacBook so I did in a PC a recently built with an RX 480. It looks really good and plays even better, I love the fact it's uncomplicated and you just launch it and get right to it. Thanks a lot again!

Awesome! Great that you're liking the game. :)

this games looks pretty cool

Follow for a follow?? Upvote for a resteem??

Haha. Hope you haven't got too many coral cuts bra!

Great post again!

Thanks! Actually come away mostly unscathed so far. Only nick I got was getting INTO the boat, not while surfing! haha

Time travel like in Overwatch. Thanks for doing this! I plan to donate my copy on reddit gift of gaming if I win. Good luck everyone!

Awesome! Just be aware that the codes expire end of July so if you donate it, it has to be redeemed almost immediately by whoever receives it. :)

Thanks for letting me know!

So, please get hold of me on Discord today as your code expires at the end of July, and I don't just want to post it here as anyone can redeem it. Thanks!

Ah nice to see other steemers giving away free games, well done man. Good to see you are getting exposure I cant even give my games away lolz.

Hah, well let's see how I go come Sunday. I saw your post - are you promoting on Discord channels or steemit.chat? Definitely the way to go - check out the Minnow Support Project if you're not already a part of that.

No mate I am not. Really don't know much about all that minnow stuff etc. I only have net on at work at the moment due to NBN taking their sweet ass time to get everything installed in the new house. But as soon as that gets hooked up I will jump on discord.

How about cupid's bow?

Smother em with love...💘💘

Haha nice - very different thinking!

Well done - you've won a free copy! Are you on Discord? Please send me a message so I can send you the link to your game 😀

Wow that game footage looks amazing! I'd go for a teleport to a nearby location, just a small leap to keep shooting from another angle! Either that or the ability to rewind time as in Super Time Force

Awesome - thanks for the comment. In with a chance to win a free copy! Are you on Discord yet? Just a reminder that I'll be distributing the prizes there 😃

Yes but not very active over there, I'm algarcia#3216. I just joined PAL

Ok cool - I've sent the link to you on Discord 👍

hahaha awesome! I won! I'm redeeming right now!

With all its laser weapons, you will need the ghost shields.

Sounds interesting - what are the ghost shields? What do they do? :)

FLAME THROWER! The Flame thrower can be good for taking on large groups. Slow fire rate but high damage for big mobs and flames not covering large distance.

Flamers gonna flame!

Well done, you've won a copy! Please message me on Discord and I'll send you the game link!

Got my code and works well got the game! Thank you :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by badastroza from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Loading...


This post got a 4.69 % upvote thanks to @badastroza - Hail Eris !

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 7.14 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @badastroza. Vote for Aggroed!

This post received a 4.8% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @badastroza! For more information, click here!

Congratulations @badastroza! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Wow! That's wonderful well organised, educative,informative post.keep it up.upvoted

Wow, that's a great copy-pasted bot-like comment, much like the others in your comment history.don't keep it up. redflagged. @steemcleaners