Govember: Game Development Sprint Day 3 -or- How I feel asleep and didn't accomplish much.

in #gaming2 years ago

Screenshot from 2021-11-03 20-21-26.png

Intro

I guess I just needed sleep last night, because after about 2 hours of work and a late supper I crashed. That being said I allotted the weekend to this next part of development so as long as I find time this weekend (or let it flow over its bounds a little) I should be on track.

Work done

Last night I started working on the game play mechanics of Allonian Seed (Project Rebirth) and in particular the "home base" for the character you play within the game. When complete each player will start out in a similar but slightly randomized version of a "starter home" that you will be able to customize and upgrade throughout the game. But the game isn't about the house, as it just serves as a starting / ending place for the gaming sessions. The real game happens outside the home, where you explore,fight, and scavenge parts for your Allonian friends.

Progress shots

As stated above I fell asleep in an untimely way last night so I only got as far as building the frame for the house. I was also able to add the spawn point and FPS control rig (provided by the FPS starter template found in Godot's asset library)

Screenshot from 2021-11-03 20-25-37.png

Screenshot from 2021-11-03 20-08-00.png

Screenshot from 2021-11-03 20-28-57.png

Future work.

A lot goes into this home base. Furniture (I'm going to borrow some from that demo @torico and I worked on a long time ago), ceiling, doors, window frames, etc. All of which should be able to be changed out. I also have plans to integrate as much as I can with hive and the users local file system (if it works it will so cool) to avoid file select dialogs, and other things that remove the player from the game.

Closing

Admittedly it was for the best as I'm told sleep is important, and hopefully the weekend will provide me the time to really push through this part of the project. Given the scope of this aspect of the game, I imagine that I'll be spending more time here than any other.

Sort:  

Btw there's a game dev community I think these posts would fit in nicely. :)

https://peakd.com/c/hive-176981/created

Cool, I'll give it a go for the next post.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.