Game Types and My Board Game Collection

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Hey Guys and Gals!

I've been asked "What Board Games Do You Own?" and I thought I would get you a link to my collection.

Boardgamegif.JPG

I also wanted to talk to you guys a little bit about game types.

You'll start to find that some board gamers have a strong preference on what kind of games they like to play. You'll see from my collection that I have a mix of games. That's okay, too. It's not like a faction where you are pledging your allegiance to one kind of game. You can like a mix. It's just some people have a type.

For those of you who aren't super into board games and are starting to see more of it, you're going to start hearing phrases like "Euro" and "Thematic" games. You may also here "Ameri-Trash" but that really is just a not as nice way of saying "Thematic".

None of what's below are hard and fast rules for either type of game, just a generalization. I just wanted to give you an idea for the terminology.

What are Euro Games?

Themes aren't super important with Euro games, though they do have a theme. The game still needs a setting for it to take place. Otherwise, you're just moving wooden cubes and stuff around for no reason. And that can feel silly. Unlike moving cubes around, because now they are crops and stuff. That's not silly at all, right? RIGHT?

Ehrm. So, Euro games to me often feel like board game competitive solitaire. You and the other players and making moves to get the most points and there isn't usually a ton of player interaction.

You're also not going to have a ton of randomness, typically, with most of Euro games.

What are Thematic Games?

Well, they are thematic. Usually there is a heavy theme and some randomness. Sometimes its a ton of randomness that you're trying to combat at every corner.

Depending on the type of game, there could be some serious player conflict or you and the other players could be battling against the game itself. Sometimes both!

Both styles of games definitely have their merits. Personally, I tend to lean towards Thematic games. Some Euro games are fun, but they can be kind of dry to me.

However I can never fully commit to saying one style is my favorite, because a good game is a good game!

Sometimes that may not even be a board game! You may have seen my DLive showing video games, which were my first love.

Really, whatever you're playing, just have fun with it and pieces (board game pieces or otherwise) will fall into place.

Let me hear some of your favorite games!

Happy Playing!

Sort:  

Puerto Rico

I've never played that one, but I keep almost grabbing it. It looks really good.

That’s the top one you should put it into collection

Congratulations @boardgamegirl! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @boardgamegirl! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!