You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Non-Assortative User Matching For Profit And Anti-Fun – Activision Patents Matching Players For Curbstompings In Cynical Cash-Grab

in #gaming7 years ago

Not only is it a shitty idea....but who grants a patent on this? Seriously, is this what passes for innovation and intellectual property these days?

I do enjoy Overwatch but the second it becomes "pay to win" with any kind of advantage gained from payment I'll be dropping it like a stone. I was always a bit of a Blizzard fanboy in my younger years....

"...I used to sell WoW accounts on Ebay while playing poker"

Sounds like you had a good little side-hussle going there for a while :)

Sort:  

"but who grants a patent on this? Seriously, is this what passes for innovation and intellectual property these days?"

I stopped asking these kind of questions of the legal system some time ago.

"Sounds like you had a good little side-hussle going there for a while :)"

I did, but these things tend to have very limited windows of profitability before they get automated or arbitraged away rapidly...