A Retro Gamer’s 12 Days Of Christmas: The Eleventh Day, Pipe Mania

in #gaming6 years ago

pipe mania.jpg

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love sent to me, eleven pipers piping

Eleven pipers piping is obviously a reference to playing a wind instrument and if you would like to explore the use of such a device in the world of gaming might I suggest Super Mario Bros. 3, The Legend of Zelda, and listening to Jethro Tull while playing King’s Quest. For the purpose of this entry, I am going to stray away from the fine arts and focus on the custodial arts.

I don’t consider myself very handy. Especially when it comes to household repairs. Sure, I can change a lightbulb but when it comes to big tasks like plumbing or electrical, I always manage to soak or shock myself. Needless to say, I need to work on a few endorsements for my man card.

Pipe Mania, or Pipe Dream for those of us working for a living in the good ole U.S.A., is a quirky puzzle game first released for the Amiga. The goal is to lay a path of pipe in a certain amount of time in order to control the flow of flooz. The gameplay is fast and while not as fun as Tetris, it is a nice entry into the puzzle genre.

[youtube