Most Blockchain Games Are Fucking Awful And You Know It

in #gaming5 years ago

My initial foray into blockchain gaming was, as with most people, on the Ethereum-based Cryptokitties.

I don’t quite remember when I signed up but I do remember feeling annoyed that I’d just run out of ETH and couldn’t play without extra funds.

derp.gif
Derp.

After a brief rummage through my exchange account (and after selling off some of my weirder altcoins), I had enough ETH to buy my first kitty. Ten minutes or so later, my kitties gave birth to a very ugly baby kitty.

Shortly after closing the game for the first and last time, I realised something: it sucked. There was barely anything to do and I was a few dollars shorter than when I had started. In exchange for my ETH I had been given three pointless pictures of ugly cats, which I now completely owned.

The next game I tried was called Relentless, a Hearthstone reskin built by Loom on Ethereum. It was jittery and poorly put together, though not altogether a bad game. But what purpose did blockchain play in its design?

Well, you get to own the cards so when that ultra mega rare card drops, it belongs to you forever and can be sold for a huge profit. The game is F2P and features a marketplace for trading rare drops.

On the splashpage for Steem Monsters they talk about provable scarcity, asset ownership and verifiability as being the selling points of a trading card game on blockchain.

Unfortunately, I don’t really care if I own the unique DNA of a particular Cryptokitty instead of just the illusion of ownership. I don’t worry about rare drops being stolen because with any game, that’s just not an issue.

Steem Monsters makes it out as if their tech protects the player from malicious devs who will use their powers to grief you or give themselves all the best cards, to which I say: why the hell would I be playing a game built by such people?

EAbad.jpg
Not even EA are bad enough to steal directly from its users.

The fact is, paying a fee to engage with a game each and every time is an awful idea, unless you’re gambling, in which case it's a different beast entirely. But these games can barely be considered gambling because the funding needed to get anywhere is enormous; no one gets the rare robot kitties without considerable time and investment.

Some of these games feel like elaborate, high-commission currency exchanges designed to make you feel like you’re playing a game, when in reality you’re paying someone for the privilege to mate two of your cats together.

In all fairness, these complaints are somewhat pre-emptive. Blockchain economies require real value to fuel them, so any games built on top of them must be monetised in some fashion (or, you know, we could just purchase the game in a single transaction and skip the ardour of unending extra fees, just like normal games do now. Mostly).

eamicrotransactions.jpg
"Mostly."

It’s still early days and a next-gen MMO built on Ethereum is a long way off, so its unfair to bash Cryptokitties for not being the next Neopets. Plus, there are some interesting projects out there (such as The SixDragons MMO built on Enjin). But I don’t see the appeal in playing a game just because it has the word blockchain listed as a feature.

Sort:  

12.18$ has been spent to promote this content using Steemium.
Learn more here!

This post has received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑

@steemium purchased a 5.94% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Congratulations @cryptowriters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I stopped gaming in 1986 with Atari 2600 lol not really but I'm definitely not a gamer at all but from an outsider looking in I don't get the hype of chain games? I've seen a few come and fizzle out here, they seem like silly quest games or modeled after The Oregon Trail if you're old enough to know that one.

I mean I'm talking out of my ass here but it would take some crazy AR game to get me interested...

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree with you that many blockchain games are boring and not worth playing. First-generation games like Cryptokitties are especially bad because you have to pay gas costs for every transaction.

And I am not a fan of Relentless. I played it, and it was OK. But it's not really up to par with what I expect from a CCG. It's just too simple.

But I've played other ones that are really fun, like Forgotten Artifacts and Gods Unchained.

And you can't really separate the blockchain aspects of these games from the games themselves. In Forgotten Artifacts, for example, the main reason the game is fun is because you might loot some collectible item out of a chest if you make it far enough into the dungeon. In Gods Unchained, you can trade the cards that you collect - just like you would with a paper CCG. This is completely unlike MTG: Arena and Hearthstone, which prevent you from trading and therefore prevent you from building a deck out of singles.

These games are also run on centralized servers. The only time a player has to pay gas fees is when he transfers an item to his wallet. So these games are much cheaper to play than Cryptokitties, Etheremon, and other first-generation blockchain games.

My point is that you can't judge them all alike. Most of them are junk. I agree. But there are some gems in the blockchain game niche as well.