Review Oddmar, A Special Viking Full of Surprises

in #gaming6 years ago

Lately I play a lot of 2D platformer games. I quite like platformer games, so I do not feel bored to play the game genre that's all. I also never had a problem with the 2D graphics style, which is usually bland for some people. However, from some platformer games that exist on the iPhone, not much to fascinate me. To be honest, this time it was the boredom that I felt because I did not find a different platformer game than most.

Source

When about a week ago I came Oddmar, I was not paying full attention to him. Nothing special at all with this one game seen from the icon alone. Though it is clear that you can not judge a book without reading its contents. The same thing, which I encountered while playing Oddmar.

A Viking Special

Source

A Viking is usually described as being big, fierce, and brave in the face of anything. Unlike the main character in this game called Oddmar. Oddmar is slightly different than the Vikings in his village. He did not hunt animals and be as hard as the people in his village. He lives from the collection of his former neighbors he collected himself.

Not to mention the issue of difference, one day the entire village of Oddmar's residence disappeared. Only Oddmar can help them back. But what should Oddmar do while Oddmar believes that he is not a true Viking? With the help of the forest fairy who gave him strength, Oddmar began the adventure.

New Enemy, New Game Mechanism

Source

Oddmar not only looks good, but also provides a fun play experience. At each level, you will find something new. From the beginnings of enemies peeking through the trees, there are forest creatures who open their equipment store in the middle of the level, up to a mushroom monster that will give you additional missions within one level. That's what makes Oddmar different from most other 2D-style platformer games. Here, every thing that lakukant players feels mean.

Not satisfied just by adventure, then you can find secret relics whose location is slightly hidden. It takes a much harder effort to find it because it is a difficult place to go, or sometimes it is not visible at all. The game mechanism is sometimes changed which makes the player must adapt. This is good because then players do not feel bored.

Precision Control

Source

I was pessimistic when I realized that a platformer that requires precision control is made for a touch screen. There are usually two outcomes of the combination. The first result is the game becomes too easy because the developers are not willing to develop the game to be safe, not relying on timeliness in jumping or in action. Or the second result, the game becomes too difficult due to inconsistent control, sometimes the leap from the character feels too far or sometimes vice versa.

Oddmar proved that a platformer game on the touch screen could be good, very good even. Each Oddmar leap seems to have been calculated in such a way that it can match what you want. This is when you jump continuously in Oddmar. There is such a tempo and momentun there, as you find in the real world.

Charming character animations are not only visible when characters jump only. In swinging swords, riding wild boars, and even on the way down from flat cliffs, everything looks perfect.

Conclusion

Source

Saying that Oddmar is a good game is a taunt. Oddmar is more than fine, this game is practically perfect. And I will not be that easy, just give this predicate.

From a beautiful graphic to a beautiful soundtrack background, it comes with a level-filled design with action. There's always something new you can find in the Oddmar world. As a player, I appreciate this because I feel the process from the first play until the end of the game.

I feel there is always a reward when I succeed in doing something in Oddmar. There are always new discoveries after I travel from one level to another. Collect more coins, then I will get a coin medal. Collect three relics at each level, then I will get three relic medals at the end. When I successfully complete the level quickly, then I also get the medal time. All of that makes the Oddmar play experience not easy to forget.

Oddmar is a masterpiece that should be emulated by many other platformers. I hope through this game, the other developers can see what Oddmar has achieved. This game is not exactly long and it is my only complaint for Oddmar. I enjoy every minute playing it and I want to keep playing Oddmar. It's probably too early to say that Oddmar is the best platformer for iOS game this year, but I think other developers have to work extra hard if they want to win the title from Oddmar.