Sucked into the Black Hole of Gaming

in #gaming6 years ago


black-hole.jpg

"You ever play Factorio?"

That was all it took to get sucked in to the void of oblivion. After watching a Youtube video about it I decide to throw down the $30 instantly and I've been playing ever since. I don't spend money on a lot of things (except crypto) so buying the game after watching a 2 min video is pretty significant.

I have played over 400 days of World of Warcraft. That's 10,000 hours. I've also played 1000's of hours of Starcraft and Poker. Although I must admit I've never been addicted to gambling. I view it more as a job. Anyway, the point is, I have a problem.

Yesterday I was up 24 hours playing this game. Only got up to eat quickly and use the bathroom a few times. I knew for a fact this was going to happen when I was watching how the game worked. If I'm being honest I'm surprised I'm not playing right now. I'll get back to it soon.

I've found that waking up in the morning allows me to break my addictions. If I harness a little self control in the morning I can break away cold turkey but normally I trick myself into playing "just one game" or smoking "just one bowl". If that happens, it's all over. I'll be doing the thing compulsively for the rest of the day. Good thing I don't smoke anymore. That shit makes me extra dumb.

I've turned my addiction to crypto for a year. Where did I go wrong? The gameplay of Factorio is the exact solution to a problem I have been dealing with. This game is incredible. It's very Indie. It was developed by a team of 18 in Prague, so obviously it's not the graphics I'm interested in.

You've crash landed on an alien planet. You are the only survivor. What do you do? Well, if you're an engineer in factorio, you start automating factories that that harvest the resources of the planet so you can eventually build a rocket and get out of there.

Even after playing this game for 24 hours, I still haven't even scratched the surface. I completed all the tutorial and campaign levels I could find but I still haven't even built like 80% of the things available in the game. The one saving grace of this game is that it's a bit of a sandbox like MineCraft, and I hate sandboxes. I want to be given a goal to accomplish.

I feel as though this game was written by programmers for programmers. If you are a programmer, you will like this game. The gameplay mimics programming. The automation you set up acts like a program. It's also just a good game though, so many people like it.

Problem

I want to create block-based video games. I want the digital items in these games to be worth money and easily tradable. I plan to accomplish this by a system of puzzle games as CAPTCHAs.

In essence, you prove that you solved the puzzle (without giving away the answer) and this is a kind of proof-of-work. Dare I say proof-of-brain.

Well this game, my friends, is one of the most perfect candidates I have ever seen for puzzle games as proof-of-work. AI is not good enough to program. By extension, this game would be extremely difficult to cheat with a bot because it is an extension of the tenants of programming.

factorio-ss.png

Seriously though, this game is intense. Every solution is unique. It gives a visual representation of how two programs with exactly the same goal could be accomplished completely differently. No two solutions are ever going to look alike. This game has a real untapped blockchain power.

Imagine getting paid to play this game. I believe those days are coming Soon™.

Sort:  

I LOVE factorio. It's something like minecraft or DF - you can build anything.

Looks cool. Kinda like civilization. I feel you on the addiction. It can be hard to break. I feel like sometimes I only break one addiction because I have replaced it with another.

Hey, hope all is well. Haven't seen you post for awhile and hope it's just because you have been busy.

OMG, I can understand you, this looks extremely awesome. I won´t buy it though, as it would severly damage my daily routine, and I can´t afford that.

Imagine getting paid to play this game. I believe those days are coming Soon™.

Looking forward to it! 😎

I've spent many hours on games in my life, but never hit that level of addiction...so I don't know what to say... hope you manage to break free at some point.
I'll tell my son to have a look ! Not paying $30, of course. I checked to see if it's available for free :)))

Thank you for contributing to the Gaming Community on Steemit. You have been given an upvote by @steemgg. For more inspiration, visit our platform Steemgg, the first html5 gaming platform built on the Steem blockchain.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

logo.png
This post has been upvoted for free by curator of @ignis-witness with 100%!
If u like what I'm doing vote for @ignis-witness
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
To vote for us, use the above link, and go to the bottom of the page, and enter our name ignis-witness into the box and click VOTE

Ohh Factorio! Never played it but it looks decent. I can't afford to play it either. This would drastically fuck up my daily routine as well :D

One of my crypto partners and oldest friends I have plays this. He is @evileddy here (though doesn't post much because he is not a social media guy) and plays that all the time. Keeps his brain going and he is starting to think about efficiency in the real world in terms of Factorio programming.

Every day I see the little Steam window pop up telling me he is playing Factorio. I never got into it because my brain already thinks like factorio programming and the escapes I have into gaming are more FPS and MMO type games with friends.

I have followed you and look forward to more games/crypto posts. I also would like to cryptophy gaming.....an MMO coin that enables guilds/people to build a video game stake they can monetize or transfer to the next game. So much potential and all gamers should be crypto people.

Resource management and efficiency! Excellent game choice Edicted.