New Game: Sunflower Farmer on Polygon (Matic) Network. I take a trip down the rabbit hole.

in #gaming2 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, someone asked what was going on with Polygon as the gas fees were astronomical.

Someone replied with a mention of "Sunflower Farmers" a new game on Polygon. I do enjoy checking out new crypto games: I was an early supporter of "SteemMonsters" as well as Axie Infinity. Sometimes, you just never know what is going to take off and curiosity got the best of me so I wanted to give an unbiased opinion of the game.

image.png

Getting started was easy enough, you go to the website and pay .1 Matic to a charity to "put your farm on the blockchain"

image.png

I believe there were some sunflowers ready to pick then you could use your "earnings" of $sff from picking them to replace them at half the cost. After a minute, you could harvest again, and repeat the process. Initially you also have the option of planting potatoes that take 5 minutes to harvest.

I thought it was cool when I first signed in and they asked for a donation to start (good optics). But honestly, I got frustrated quick.

This game single-handily increased the polygon gas prices for 3 days now. You must "save" the farm to the blockchain every 30 minutes and with gas prices being the way they are you have to wait a while for it to go through at the suggested gas price. You literally have to sit there and wait while a little image of a guy mining tells you to be patient.

image.png

If you reload or click away, it might not work (even if your fees gets processed). Yes, you have to sit there and wait for it to go through before doing anything, so you jack up your gas fee to not have to deal with it, right?

So once you save, it takes a while for the game to make the change. You have to run a transaction for EVERYTHING. anytime you make a change you have to save it if you want to make upgrades. That's two transactions (one to save, one to upgrade).

So I crafted an axe, they suggest crafting multiple things at once to save on gas fees (oh how nice of them!). So to harvest wood, I have to save my farm (pay and wait) then craft an axe (pay and wait) then even the process of starting wood chopping you have to pay and wait. THEN you have to save it (pay and wait) if you want all that to save!

Who the HELL came up with this idea?

I did a google search today to sign back in and I thought it was funny that a reddit post complaining about the game is at the top of the results. I thought they did a great job breaking this game down in more detail than I knew about.

My initial thoughts and after playing it for an hour: what a joke of a game.

Be better.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.