A Friend's Introduction and Simple Things Once Thought Difficult (Video Game Skills Applied to IRL)

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

A few years ago, @mbrown121500 told me about how he brews his own cider. He highly recommended I do the same. The idea of doing something I had never done before was overwhelming though, and excuse after excuse delayed me from learning the new skill. It was just never a high enough priority to figure it out and get it done.

Liberty_Professionals---divider---steemit---dark.png

As a good friend would do though, he kept pestering me. He runs a TeamSpeak server for video games, and our group uses it for their voice communications. "Have you started brewing?" is something I heard over and over during the nightly discussions. We've played many different games, but Life is Feudal is the main one these days.

It is difficult to play, involves building fortifications, and you cannot simply press a button to strike someone. You have to move your character and your mouse correctly to fight well. A team, called clans like our Bearded Bombers, benefits greatly from defense in depth and other real world physical security knowledge too.

The subject of adult beverages naturally came up repeatedly in the conversation while playing, so eventually I stopped ignoring his good advice about brewing my own alcohol. I went to a local store and bought my first batch's supplies. Instead of brewing cider however, I was going to try making my own mead.

To my surprise, the process was extremely easy. It was also a huge financial boon. I had a glass or two of wine a night as my usual. Well, wine isn't cheap. Although it is healthy and I still drink it from time to time, I can brew six gallons of mead for $50 worth of materials. That's a great deal compared to the retail price of a decent wine!

Many months ago I documented and shared the process in a Steemit post. Anyone can easily do it and save themselves a lot of money at the same time. If you want to start brewing, please let me know below. Between myself and my friends like @mbrown121500, we can get you started.

He has been brewing for many years, but he hasn't been on Steemit.com for long. I am using this post to introduce him to my followers in case they missed his resteemed introduction post. He has a lot of knowledge to share and is also very passionate about sharing it. If you want to learn about hunting, brewing, or network engineering, he can help!

We have been friends for a very long time now, and I know he's a strong supporter of individual liberty. That's why we're friends after all, and that should be no surprise to my other friends here! Sure, it helps that we have a lot in common, but our core values being the same is what's important.

Please give him a warm welcome to the fight for liberty within social media here on Steemit!

As he once did for me with brewing, I have been doing for him with crypto trading. @mbrown121500 has excelled at working the markets within EVE Online in the past and now within Life is Feudal. Those skills do actually cross over to IRL (In Real Life).

Spotting trends and buying and selling are something he's already very talented at, but trading crypto or other real world assets is something new. He'll easily master it though, and it will become simple for him as brewing has become for me. I have given him a little seed money already, and this post's payout will also go to him.

Welcome, friend!

Liberty_Professionals---divider---steemit---dark.png

Sort:  

Welcome @mbrown121500 to the steemit pond. Cannonball​ on in here and splash around man! No better time to jump in than now.@finnian glad I finally got to chat with him after hearing about him. Proud to welcome a fellow Liberty Professional to this place and look forward to this wild 2018!

It's going to be a crazy year!

Welcome @mbrown121500! It's nice to see an example of real life skills learned in video games!!!

The markets in both EVE and LiF are incredibly complicated and definitely very similar to IRL trading.

Thanks, thus far seems like a great community.

I'd be interested in seeing some screenshots or a video of your Bearded Bombers team in Life is Feudal and maybe some commentary on your latest trading missions or... skirmishes, or whatever's going on with your team these days.

The game has trading posts where players can buy and sell goods. Each individual clan can build their own, but you have to ride a horse to it in the game. That's a problem since the game world is a 4 hour ride from one side to another.