10 Good Games You Can Play on Low-End PC

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

"Welcome home"

-Vault-Tec Announcer (Fallout 4)


Since I'm on a potato-powered wooden PC that can barely run 15 Chrome tabs, I've been looking for some low-end PC friendly games to play on this thing. Until I have enough souls to revive my previous PC, I think I'm gonna need to choose the games carefully or this PC might as well blown up. Fortunately, despite the ever-increasing graphic quality of video games nowadays there are plenty of (indie) games that don't need a high-end PC to enjoy, and their non-ultra realistic graphics has their own appeal. 

In this list I've played only some of them and I thought I'd share it here so maybe you could find a game that interest you as well. If you know a good one but you don't see it here, let me know in the comment, would you kindly? Here are some of my best pick of games you could play on low-end PC.


Stray Cat Crossing


Developer   : Jurlo, JetPackGone
Publisher    :
Fridge
Genre           :
Horror, Adventure, Indie
Platform(s):
PC
Steam

The game's 16bit visual looks beautiful yet shrouded with uneasy atmosphere that feels perfect for this horror game. The world looks like a normal world when you first see it in the beginning of the game, but once you go into the house and begin your adventure everything you find in there are very unusual and of course, creepy. You play as a girl named Cat--a character with a rather funny name just like the developers' and the publisher's name--who will explore a strange surreal world and outsmart the disturbing creatures in solving the challenging puzzles and riddles to unveil the dark secrets. The game is worth 2 hours of gameplay with interesting, touching story that will leave you thinking about it in the end of the game. Why most games with great stories always have to be so short?!


Stardew Valley


Developer   : ConcernedApe
Publisher    :
Chucklefish Games
Genre           : Simulation, Indie, RPG
Platform(s):
PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, Mac, Linux
Official site/Steam

Looking at the tons of Stardew Valley "let's play" videos, reviews, and discussions, I'm starting to think I might be the only one who missed the fun of this game. Stardew Valley is a relaxing farming game with a nice setting in pixel art graphic that will bring you to Harvest Moon-like experience, but better. Each day you can manage your farm, go to a fishing spot, exploring around to find valuable ores, make friends and even get something that you hardly get in real life; a girlfriend. This game is definitely a must play. 


Terraria


Developer   : Re-Logic, Engine Software, 505 Games
Publisher    : Re-Logic, Engine Software, 505 Games
Genre           :
Sandbox, Action, Adventure, Survival, Indie
Platform(s):
PC, Android, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Mac, Nintendo 3DS
Official site/Steam

Terraria is a side scrolling sandbox that let you dig to obtain better gear and become stronger so you can do more digging. While you are digging the pixellated ground and finding the crafting resources you can also find yourself in a fun battle against the hostiles. In the early game you will most likely build a small wooden house that will eventually turn into a settlement with more houses that allow NPCs to move in. The NPCs have various functions such as selling items, heals you up, and teach you the game's basic. Terraria is a very good 2D sandbox game that you can find in almost every "Best sandbox games" list.


Torchlight


Developer   : Runic Games
Publisher    : Runic Games, Perfect World, Microsoft Studios, JoWood, Encore, Inc.
Genre           : Action, RPG, Hack and Slash
Platform(s): PC, Mac, Linux, Xbox 360
Official site/Steam

Torchlight deliver a really fun action RPG experience with many different playstyles. This game maybe one of those game you play when you are hungry for loots. You can play as one of the three available characters each with their own specialty accompanied with adorable cate or a doggo that can transforms into monsters when you feed them fishes you got from fishing. Once you finished the game, the retirement feature allows you to transfer all your collected gears via shared chest so you can begin new game with different character with the shiny loots you've acquired in the previous playthrough. 

The second game, Torchlight II offer many more different playstyle opportunities. I wish there is the third game, but Runic Games created something (that maybe) different instead, called Hob. Looks good but I haven't look it up more.


Relic Hunters Zero 


Developer   : Rogue Snail
Publisher    :
Zueira Digital
Genre           :
Action, Indie, Twin-Stick Shooter, Rogue-like
Platform(s):
PC, Mac
Official site/Steam

This one looks good to me, and it really is. From the creator of Chroma Squad and Knights of Pen and Paper, Relic Hunters Zero give you a fast and tactical shooting gameplay packed in a colourful pixel graphic where you play as cute tiny guns-holding characters with thick eyebrows to shoot evil space ducks and evil space turtles and unlock another cute tiny guns. Okay I need to slow down but I can't because this game is an awesome free to play game with an open source code so you can find or create your own mods easily and also you can let the developers know if you have any suggestion. 


Evoland


Developer   : Shiro Games
Publisher    :
Shiro Games
Genre           :
RPG, Adventure, Indie
Platform(s):
PC, iOS, Android, Linux
Official site/Steam

One word for this one; Awesome. I didn't expect that there is someone who will ever thought about making a game like this. Evoland will take you to the history of action-adventure genre of video game. According to many of its reviews, this game is great if you love Legend of Zelda and Final Fantasy games. You starts off by playing in retro styled visual, and then as you make your way the game guides you to discover the newer video game's features and upgrades, such as the ability to move in all directions, save game, step by step graphic improvement from grey 8bit to colourful 3D. There will be a companion to follow you along your adventure and puzzle solving journey, because you know, it's dangerous to go alone. But.. I'm a little bit unsure if this one could be played on low-end PC once it evolved into 3D.


EITR


Developer   : Eneme Entertainment
Publisher    : Devolver Digital
Genre          
 : Action, RPG, Adventure
Platform(s): PC, Mac, PlayStation 4, SteamOS, Linux
Steam

I love Greek and Nordic mythology, and I'm pretty sure this pixel art isometric action RPG about Nordic mythology might be the one that I would enjoy so much. You play as the Shield Maiden exploring the nine Norse realms connected by the great tree Yggdrasil with many weapons options and strategic combat system. Looks like this is also the game where you can satisfy the need of lots of loots.


Fallout Shelter


Developer   : Bethesda Game Studios, Behaviour Interactive
Publisher    :
Bethesda Softworks LLC
Genre           :
Simulation
Platform(s):
PC, Xbox, iOS, Android  
Official site/Steam

Welcome home.. Build the perfect vault in Fallout Shelter, for a brighter future, underground. You've played as the Lone Wanderer, the Courier, and the Sole Survivor. Now in Fallout Shelter you will be the Overseer who will manage the Vault, your own Vault, and ensure the survival of your dwellers. You can also gear up your dwellers and send them to venture outside the vault to complete the quests or to collect awesome gears and extra caps.

I don't know in which event/timeline Fallout Shelter is set, because you will come accross places you see in Fallout 4 but you can get several characters from Fallout series (mostly from Fallout 3) such as Alistair Tenpenny, Piper, and the notorious Preston Garvey. Don't worry, he won't tell you to help out settlements.


Undertale


Developer   : Toby Fox
Publisher    : Toby Fox
Genre           :
Indie, RPG
Platform(s):
PC, Mac, Linux
Official site/Steam

If you want a game with awesome soundtrack that will try to manipulate you other than BioShock, and give you completely unexpected twists, Undertale is the perfect game for you. This game will test how human are you, you can choose to play it wild by slashing everything stand on your path, or you can choose to be a peaceful human being who wouldn't lay a hand even at the monsters that try to hurts you. Don't judge the game by its absurd looks for this is really one of the best game ever created. Undertale is a narrative-driven isometric game that I highly recommend for those who haven't play this game.

It's a beautiful day outside. Birds are singing, flowers are blooming.. On days like these, person like you.. Should be playing Undertale.


Death's Gambit


Developer   : White Rabbit
Publisher    : Adult Swim
Genre           :
Action, RPG
Platform(s):
PC, PlayStation 4
Official site/Steam

This upcoming action game looked a bit like Dark Souls in 2D side scrolling. You play as an agent of death exploring an alien medieval planet where you will face off against gigantic beasts, terrifying knights, and horrors. You can build an impressive arsenal of powerful blades and spells I've never heard of "alien medieval" before, so this one might worth to look out for. 


I hope you enjoy this post, sorry if I say something wrong in here. If there is a game from here that you haven't try, you should try it out, the available ones of course. Or do you know any other great games that could be played on a low-end PC? Let me know in the comment.


For more gaming stuff..
Follow me, would you kindly?


Previous Posts

You Want a Space Exploration Game? Try GTA V, With This New (Upcoming) Mod
My Top 6 Video Game Music and Short Explaination of Video Game Music
RIP Cory Gaspur, Anthem's Lead Designer


Image source: 1

Sort:  

Congratulations @gaming-stuff! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

post is very good

Pretty nice post and list of games. I have played a few of these. This may lead me to check out a few more. Thanks.

Thank you! I'm glad this post could help

Half life as well as hl2 (on low video quality) work well. Max payne also a good one.

Nice choices. I don't know about Max Payne, but those are the legends you are talking about.

I've played and finished dozens of old PC games but these do not seem from 90s :-) I cannot recall seeing them 20 years ago :-)

These games are not from the 90s, even there are two that hasn't released yet. But some of them have similar style to the 90s games

I see. Good to know. I like retro style games :D

Btw, I finished Fallout 4 and Fallout Shelter (well that one goes forever but I got to the point that everything was built and most of gear found).
I finished all Fallout games on PC, including Fallout Tactics :-) Love postapocalyptic stuff.

That's a fab list of stuff my pea pod powered pc can probably play properly. Thanks for reminding me! I reblogged so I can come back to it when I'm done with Torchlight 2

You're welcome! Thanks for reblogging it.
Ooh I really need to play Torchlight II again, that game is so good.

Yeah it's fantastic. I'm a huge fan. I keep screwing off and trying new classes though so I never get too far

Terraria and Torchlight are good. Do you know whether your computer can run Shadows of Adam?

I think so, that's looks like some Steam's high rated game. I didn't know about this one before. Thanks!

Already heard and want most of them!! especially undertale and stardew vally... I'm not thinking of buying them soon because right now I have little to no play time.... I wish the days where I play 3-5 hours daily return.... haha.

Oh, and I have terraria... I didn't start playing it for the same reason.

My days of hours of gaming has gone too. So I think I'm going to find a game tester job, you know.. So I can play games for days and get paid for it haha.

I heard game tester is very hard work so good luck.... I know that when I tested the small games I made I wasn't enjoying it after few times.

Empire II, command and conquer, Mu Online, lineage, gunbound y more.

Oh how can I forget Age of Empires II. And that GunBound looks awesome. That's a good list of games you're telling me, thank you

No problem, I'll see if I remember another old school game with very low requirements.