Computer Gaming dubbed 'e-Sports' a Multimillion Dollar Industry (featuring @jacor as author)

in #gaming8 years ago

I was driving home yesterday afternoon and listened to an amazing story of the computer gaming industry being a **Multi-Million Dollar ** industry. People actually makes Millions of Dollars playing Computer games .

The International, an annual Dota 2 tournament at the KeyArena in Seattle, Washington

The so called eSports is a form of competition that is facilitated by electronic systems, particularly video games; The referees are actually humans :)

The global eSports market generated a massive USD 325 million ( 2015) and are aiming to make more than USD 460 million in 2016.

Amazingly the global eSports audience in 2014 - 2015 was more than 226 million people.

Esports Tournament Prize Amounts 1998–2014

The DJ on the radio had a chat to competitive players Andreas & Ashton from Bravado Gaming. I think we would all (or most of us) love to participate in this, but the guys are genuinely professional gamer's. As a parent my first thought was that I do not have to train my child to be a professional golf caddie anymore :)

I'll just get the kids to focus more on the games that the are ALWAYS playing. Maybe I can just retire off their first $10 Million Dollar prize money.

Then the comment came that the e-sports industry also have a massive problem with performance enhancing drugs.

I first thought it was a joke, but their are reports of widespread use of performance-enhancing drugs in eSports.

Competitors in the industry and officials widely acknowledging the use of various drugs in the industry. And the drugs are not what you would possibly think. They use medication such as Adderall and Ritalin, only to mention a few.

These drugs can significantly improve reaction time, boost concentration, and obliviously you do not become tired as quickly.

The current overall world champion for the 7th Annual WC (2015) is Serbia. The competition was held in Seoul, Korea.


League of Legends 3 - Just look at this spectator base!!

Happy gaming to all the professional gamer's out there and enjoy every minute!! We never know maybe we will have a whole industry of professional blog writers out there who also earns millions of dollars for writing posts!

Sort:  

dota 2 and league AAAAAAHHHHHH!!!! Love them

In Russia eSport is official kind of sport!

I read somewhere that the CEO of EA Sports does not want to call e-Sports a real sport.... They did however started a new division dedicated for eSport. By the way I have never attended an eSports event. I will see when the next event is in South Africa, and ensure to be there.

In ten years, I bet eSports overtakes football (soccer) as the most lucrative sport. :)

I hope that in 10 years from now we have Interstellar Space Travel :) This way there can't be physical football fields. The only way to competitively compete will be eSports !!

You are far too optimistic! Maybe in 50 years. :)

I should be dead in 50 years, so that's why I'm opting for 10 years :)

I may be dead too. I hope not though. :) It's going to get really exciting in the coming decades.

Agree on the coming decades :) Let's watch and see exciting times:)

After two years, I bet eSports overtakes football (soccer)

I am a rugby union fan myself, no wait, I am a sport fan in general. Love all sports and now including eSport :) I just hope everybody does well in all sports :)

Nice post! WC3 fan here! Now i play Dota.

10 years from now my link league of legends my link will already be challenging. :)

These games are hard drugs.
Only the strongest are doing !

That'll teach him to hit a computer :)

wake up and play! =)

In south Korea for example there are hundreds of professional players

I remember training day and night to become a dota pro during highschool and university. Me and my team haven't made it big, but we had fun times at local competitions.
And we still occasionally game and watch esports (sometimes bet on matches with beer). I would love to follow a blog of an esports team.

Always good to be with beer. Love it @radub

I see in a post from the Esports Observer - They use facebook a lot. If they only know about Steemit :) !!! http://digiday.com/publishers/worlds-biggest-esports-promoter-uses-facebook-live/

I was a pro gamer once, but as you grow older your reaction time slows down and all those darn kids can beat you faster(they can do more APM-actions per minute). Internet made all that possible, esports, bitcoin, steemit! We can all make it, well, some of us can make it even more if we are a part of a botnet. Calm seas gavvet, calm seas to you! :)

Sounds like you had some interesting times @moon32walker . Fully understand the getting older part ... a lot changes through life :) But always for the better at the end of the day. Very interesting times lay ahead :)

My favorite game! Thanks a lot, i am happy much!!

I see steem vs steam here both are printing mad money !
And my post vs whale post just like earth and skies . sighs

Agreed @rainchen, but the whales will come see my previous post on why I say it will happen. We must just keep on working hard and build a reputation for ourselves . The only way to build a reputation is through time .https://steemit.com/steemit/@jacor/steemit-the-wild-west-of-the-future-internet-we-need-more-whales

Never stop promoting our blog by manual :)

I love video games. I've watched a few competitions, enjoyed them too but I don't considered this a sporting event. On the other hand, if we considered bowling and fishing a sport, I guess a COD tournament fits the definition.

Totally agree with you @cryptobarry

I have tried streaming a small amount and am looking into starting up again. There are a lot of opportunities in e-sports and I can see networks bidding to screen events in the next few years.

I have a friend that was also involved in streaming...http://www.efcworldwide.com/ He streamed the local EFC tournaments and did really well. Let me know when you start streaming esports. I will subscribe immediately :)

me playing dota

It's cool that eSports has reached such a large scale and at the same time it doesn't stop, but there is constant development, new formats and so on. But like any other sport it is not without cheating and attempts to play unfairly. For example Resurgence Valorant was disqualified for match-fixing, I was amazed when I read about it here https://www.getinproleague.com/blog/post/resurgence-valorant-roster-banned-by-riot-games-for-match-fixing-o6i7jyyd1 . So you have to be prepared for that as well and of course never try to cheat yourself.