holoz0r's A-Z of Steam: Bejeweled 3

in #gaming5 years ago

I don't own Bejeweled 1, or 2. I've probably played them at some point. What started as a "I'll play this for a little while to review it", ended up in three hours of joyful, casual gem matching action, with multiple modes. I don't even know which one is my favourite.

First, there's "classic" where you match up to a certain number of points before proceeding to the next level. If you run out of matches, GG, you lose. You get a high score.

Then there's Lightning, which is what I probably spent the most time playing - match the gems, and match the ones with time on them to unlock an additional round where the score multiplier increases. Frantic ticking of the clock, and the metronome like music creates tension, as well as a very Civ like "just one more turn" mentality.

Then there's the "secret" modes, which are variants of the standard modes. There's so much variation here upon the classic match the gems formula, which, arguably would be (and is) much better on a tactile interface like a smartphone's touch screen.

That's the only thing that stopped me playing this game on my 1080ti powered gaming rig - the fact that a touch screen wasn't present was slowing me down.

I really wouldn't reccomend buying this game on Steam unless you want to have a really good time, and at the same time, waste an enormous amount of time. Do it for free with a match 3 app on your phone, where people can at least intervene to try and stop you when they see you in public wasting your precious life-force on a gem-matching game.

Together, as a society, we can overcome this addiction.

Perhaps. 20190126220424_1.jpg
I never did make it to the top of the leaderboard...

Sort:  

I remember that night. You turned to me and asked me why you're still playing. I just laughed and said "yeah that's bejeweled".

Oh. Actually this will be the first time I will hear about this

Oh. Actually
This will be the first time I
Will hear about this

                 - adenijiadeshina


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.095 which ranks you at #983 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 979).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 163 contributions, your post is ranked at #50.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server