The TRUTH About No Man's Sky - Alien Languages, Brain Augmentations and Melonback Horn Beasts

in #gaming8 years ago

Hey guys, inaliz here o7! With all the negative comments and articles about No Man's Sky I figured I would share the awesome experiences I've had in the game so far and try to shine some light on the ridiculous information circulating. First off I would like to say that I love sandbox games and I feel like you have to understand them and like them to understand No Man's Sky. I am also a huge fan of space simulator games, a genre that has lacked good titles for years. With the exception of Elite: Dangerous and now, No Man's Sky.

Yesterday I loaded up my twitch stream, went live and began my adventure in No Man's Sky. I ended up losing myself in a 12 hour adventure in an unknown galaxy. The game loaded up to me being on a snow covered planet, -65 degrees celsius to be exact. In front of me was my ship which was clearly damaged and various loot containers. I decided it's a good time to go for a walk and see what adventures I could find. In No Man's Sky you can name everything you've discovered and upload it to the server. So the first thing I did was name the Galaxy "inaliz" and then my planet. As I walked into the unknown there were various icons highlighted by the scanner on my multi-tool. Some were alien relic sites, various technologies from downed spacecraft that I could learn and several small outposts from what looked to be from an alien race.


As I kept trucking along I encountered more and more sites of interest. I found a scanning tower that lit up more points of interest for me. I was eager to meet my first alien life form. I encountered several different species of what looked like animals. I whipped out my multi-tool, scanned them, named them and uploaded to the server. Then I found a "Scanning site" that required me to apply a bypass chip to use. Went into my inventory, farmed the materials needed, crafted the chip and booted up the scanner. It brought up multiple options, one included "colonial outpost", selected it and was prompted with "Advance Life Form Detected"! I approached the outpost while picking up various elements and technologies. I dashed eagerly towards the building, the door opened and I met my first alien. He looked like a highly advanced robot type of guy, a Korvaxian.


He(she?) spoke to me in a language unknown. I had only learned a couple words from my voyage to the relic sites. They gave me a riddle and seemed to like my answer, then promptly rewarded me with an upgrade. I decided to go back and repair my ship. After I did that I spent the next 10 hours or so exploring the planet. I learned 55 Korvaxian words which helped me communicate with them from the various ruins and relic sites on the planet. One thing I didn't expect was that the game actually has some hard hitting feels. Some of the relic sites would tell a story about the universes, life and how we should treat each other. It also told the tale of the sentinels. A seemingly robot creation that patrols all of space trying to maintain peace. I even got my brain excavated and augmented by the advanced alien race. I got a ton of upgrades to my weapon/tool, ship, my suit, inventories and much more.

I then decided it was time to check out of the planet and see what else there is to offer. So I exited the planet with my repaired ship and spoils. Entering space for the first time was definitely a thing. This game is spectacular looking for a design perspective. I looked down at the planet I was on and was blown away, it looked like it was actually the size of earth. All that time I was exploring I just scratched the surface of it. In the distance I saw an icon for a space station! So of course I had to go there and that was a big wow moment. Entering the station for the first time felt pretty cool and it played some epic music to boost the feel. I was then led on mission to learn how to make fuel to use my warp drive so I could explore space endlessly. A cryptic monument also gave me coordinates to a system many light years away. What will I find, why is this entity guiding me?


That ended my first stream and session of No Man's Sky. Now I would like to address the fact that there are hundreds of people witch hunting the game because of multiplayer issues. Shame on you. Since the beginning Hello Games has been telling us time after time that this isn't a multiplayer focused game. They also say time after time that encountering another player is EXTREMELY rare but "Possible". So why is everyone focused on a feature that they didn't even promote? The fact is that negative people will always look for the flaws in something and try to ruin it. They are also trying to profit off of the wave of hate pointed toward the game using copy paste trigger articles...Shame...Shame...Shame on you. Maybe one day when these people actually create a project they put a their heart and work into they will understand what they are doing is wrong.

This game is amazing so far and a huge step for the future of gaming. Do yourself a favor, if you think a game might be for you, don't look online for day 1 reviews or unprofessional reviews from people who haven't played the game for more than 2 hours. Judge for yourself, you never know what you might be missing. I am a 30+ year gamer, streamer and content creator. Stop by my stream at

and hang out with me some time or check me out on youtube via the video below. Enjoy! twitter @inaliftw



Sort:  

Sounds like you spent way longer on the starting planet than I did. I pretty much repaired my ship and jetted.

There are some minor complaints I have, such as it can get a little repetitive... But overall it's definitely a great game.

Yea, I got lost exploring and learning/upgrading. I could never find the last animal scan to complete the 100% :(.

Yeah it's near impossible to get 100%. I think I was close on one planet, but I can never manage to scan birds... I didn't even think you could for a long time. I'm told you can shoot them down and then scan, but I can't hit them either!

Boost up and smackem with the laser.

Great article, Totally agree with you about the people that are "witch hunting" the game. It is sad too see people slamming the game because of something it wasn't really made to do :(

Thanks!

...i dont know why but at the end i think it will be like spore, limited, when you have visited three planets all will be the same, i hope i am wrong

I never played spore but definitely hearing that a lot. I'll have to look into it.

Just wrote my own thing about NMS, in case you're looking for any tips: https://steemit.com/nomanssky/@telos/galactic-life-hacks

I have every upgrade in the game and 48 slot ship at this point :)

Hi @inaliz, as someone whose recently bought No Mans Sky I pretty much have the same view as you. I'm enjoying it so far! Good luck whereever the worlds take you !