[League of Legends]: STATISTICAL PROOF that we gain less IP/BE under the new system

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, as a long time player of League of Legends (Since Season 1!), I've been getting increasingly frustrated by the lack of IP/BE Gain in some of my accounts. Some of my friends who are newer players have felt the same way. According to Riot, (https://boards.na.leagueoflegends.com/en/c/developer-corner/Jh3Mtzu6-board-post-title-blue-essence-earn-rates-learning-the-numbers-with-carl-and-henrietta) We earn MORE under the new BE system. So I put the system to the test.
Here's the exact same steemit post in the LoL boards: https://boards.na.leagueoflegends.com/en/c/gameplay-balance/uKAaBTMv-statistical-proof-that-we-gain-less-ipbe-under-the-new-system

I tested the amount of games it would take me to level up from Level 47 to Level 48 (Which requires 3456 XP), jotting down the time and amount of XP gained and my reward for leveling up, and compared it to the IP that I would have earned under the old system

I'll include a complete Conclusion/TL;DR at the end. Here are the numbers on a beautiful spreadsheet for proof and reference:

Things to note:

  • 18/20 of these games were played in High Diamond Solo Queue (My rank was Diamond II). Due to the competitive nature and skill level of players in this rank, games may be shorter.

  • On Game 7 I was rewarded the Win of the Day bonus. I included the correct amount of IP if I were to get Win of the Day under the old system.

  • I started Level 47 with 78 starting XP from an excess of an unrecorded game. The last game also gave me an excess of 81 XP, which leaves a difference of 3 XP which is statistically Irrelevant. These 20 games gave me a total of 3459 XP and I needed 3456 to level up, so there is no need to alter the data in any way to make up for the excesses (phew!).

  • IP gained is calculated by using these formulas:
    Loss IP = [1.405 x Minutes + 16]
    Victory IP = [2.312 x Minutes + 18]
    These formulas are taken from the data in the lolwiki: http://leagueoflegends.wikia.com/wiki/Influence_Points#cite_note-graph-0

Upon opening My Champion Capsule, I received a Shyvanna and Zilean Shard. Proof: (https://imgur.com/a/0tcTx ). These are worth 630 and 270 respectively, 900 BE plus the Win of the Day Bonus of 50 BE totals up to 950 BE earned for Leveling up. According to my calculations, under the old system, I would have received 1419 IP.

However we're not done. According to https://boards.na.leagueoflegends.com/en/c/developer-corner/Jh3Mtzu6-board-post-title-blue-essence-earn-rates-learning-the-numbers-with-carl-and-henrietta , We gain a bonus "Milestone" Capsule every 10 levels. A normal Capsule gives 720, 900, 960, or 1,240 BE while a "Milestone" Capsule gives 1,980, 2,160, or 2,220 BE. So to make our Conclusion easier to understand, lets treat This "Milestone" Chest as a normal one by subtracting the Earnings of a "Mileston" Capsule by the earnings of a normal Capsule, and then distributing the bonus BE across all 10 levels by dividing the number by 10. This allows us to look at the BE earned per level. Here's a spreadsheet:

Things to note:

  • The top numbers represent the roll you get on the "Milestone" Capsule, the left numbers represent the roll you get on the theoretical normal capsule you'd receive at the tenth level.

  • The Average Row represents the Average "Bonus" BE you get for the "Milestone" Capsule for each possible roll of the "Milestone Capsule". This is then divided by 10. The final "Per Level Bonus" indicates the amount of BE you'd need to add to the earnings of every Level Up to make up for the Bonus BE of the 10th Level, if it were to give a normal capsule.

  • The second, smaller chart represents the same calculations but done using the "Average" rolls of the different Capsules which is provided in the RIot Post describing BE Earnings.

So using my experience, I essentially earned 950 + either 102.5 or 120.5 or 126.5 BE on average depending on what I role for the "Milestone" Capsule for 20 games, compared to the 1419 I would have earned in the old. In actuality, I earned 1058, 1076, or 1082 depending on what I roll.

For those of you who like the simplified, "Don't waste my time" version, here's my conclusion:

Conclusion: Under the new system, for leveling up, I earned 1058, 1076, or 1082 BE. Compared to the 1419 IP I would have earned under the old system.

Yet Riot, the creator of the system, claims we earn more BE under the new system (https://boards.na.leagueoflegends.com/en/c/developer-corner/Jh3Mtzu6-board-post-title-blue-essence-earn-rates-learning-the-numbers-with-carl-and-henrietta ).

Here's a couple of reasons for the discrepancy:

* Riot Mortdog claims "A 37 Minute Game of PVP SR you WON was worth ~100 IP, and is now worth 251 XP." and "A 37 Minute Game of PVP SR you LOST was worth ~67 IP, and is now worth 205 XP." when a 37 minute WON game is actually worth ~103.5 IP and a LOST game is worth 68 IP according to LOLwiki's formula. This may seem like something will barely affect the totals, but when paired up with other factors this may mean a lot.

* Games don't last 37 minutes Period. My average game length was 24:10.

* My Win Ratio is 55% compared to the constant 50% Win Rate used in Riot Mortdog's post

* Riot Mortdog uses the XP require to level from 30-39, while I only use the XP required to level up to 48. ofc the earlier levels are easier to get and would grant more BE per level, but im not level 39 am I? Why am I getting punished for playing more than a Casual? Even in Mortdog's scenario, The hardcore player on average gains less until he/she reaches the milestone.

* Other players play less/more than me, my experience does not mean YOU will earn the same BE. Casual Players may find that they earn more BE under the new system, but again, why are the Hardcore players being punished?

* I rolled pretty low on the capsule, (never lucky man) others may have better luck, but this doesn't justify the problem if anything it creates another one. Why are my rewards for playing 20 games decided on RNG?

Even IF the systems were equal or we gained more under the new system, I still have the same problems everyone has:

  • I want to see progress every game not every 20. and leveling up 100 times to actually get benefit out of the system is tiring everyone.

  • Why are you bringing RNG to a system that no one complained about? Sure every said the new player experience was horrible because of having to buy runes, but those are go now (ty for that btw), so why change the system that was simple and effective?

  • Why is BE tied to leveling? I couldn't honestly care less about my level and even though i don't speak for everyone, I haven't even looked at my level much less cared until now, and the emotes are seeing no use in my games, so I don't care about the Milestone emotes either.

  • Why are hardcore players getting screwed over so hard? If you were level 30, and had the basic 1 ad 1 ap 1 tank rune page (like many of my accounts), you got the shortest end of the stick in history. I remember getting less then 15k BE for the runes i previously bought in this account. How does that cover 30 levels worth of BE?

  • And seriously what is that BE total you need to get Champion Mastery? I mean I also don't care about this stuff, but i hear complaints all the time and after looking at the BE amount you need, it's straight up inaccessible if you haven't unlocked all the champions.

I just feel like I don't have any more power anymore. Maybe its because you don't get as much BE, or the fact that it takes 20 games to get anything at all, or the fact that it takes over 100 to reach the same rate of BE as before. Maybe its all three reasons.

Edit: the minimum BE per normal capsule was bumped up from 720 to 810. Doesn't matter, my point still stands.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @infernodan10 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://boards.na.leagueoflegends.com/en/c/gameplay-balance/uKAaBTMv-statistical-proof-that-we-gain-less-ipbe-under-the-new-system?show=flat

Yes, both were posted by me.