A wonderful forgotten game: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit users :)
What is up ? Having a great weekend ? Do you like games with big battles and realistic/creative content ? If yes, this article is going to be for you.

I thought I would bring you something, that you might find very interesting. I have always been a huge strategy game fan, I still play multiplayer Age of Mythology, used to play AOE2, and also enjoyed a lot more strategy games in singleplayer. The sad thruth is, that bad multiplayer (meaning no comeptition/no people playing the game online) usually makes me quit a game, because it is the most enjoyable experience. There was this game, it was very hard for me to accept, that the multiplayer is dead and that the creators bankrupted. I am going to talk about the game in this thread.

hqdefault.jpg

What I admire so much about this game is that it gives you a feeling of freedom. Let me explain...Depending on which civilization you choose to play for, you can also choose a hero which you can control like in an RPG game. If you choose Egyptians for example, you can actually control Cleopatra. You hero levels up and becomes stronger and stronger. This game has a glory point system. If you build Glory Statues, explore the map, build a new structure you gain these points, which are not only used to get more technologies, troops, and buildings, but you can actually choose other hero to play for from the specific nation. Each nation has two.

screenshot-raf.heavengames.com-2017-07-01-18-15-07.png

rise-fall-civilizations-at-war_14.jpg

The freedom I mentioned does not end here. The big thing is the population cap, it is 5000. If you have a good PC, this will gurantee a huge amount of fun. These units enable you to go very hard on the battle system, on water maps especially. When you load troops on the boats, you can literally see them, and if you have archers, they can snipe the enemy ships. You can equip your ships with bows, that you can control with your hero. Another great thing is the fact, that you can grapple the enemy ship to your ship. I forgot to mention a ram you can attach to your ship and use it to crack the enemy ships :p. It is funny when a ship goes down, because the troops do not die immediately, they actually get another chance by being able to swim to the nearby land. But be careful when using ships during a siege...There is the Archimedes Claw in the game.

Untitled-1.jpg

Water is fun :), but land combat awesome too. As a defender, you can command your archers to climb on the walls and them follow them with your hero, so you can literally drift into the sniping. From the role of the aggressor, you have even more possibilites. You can use siege towers and even ladders to climb on the enemy walls - be careful the ladders can be knocked down. There are another 8 awesome siege weapons, of which some fire some powerfull ammo that can literally blast the enemy units into air (yeah, the game has decent physics :P). The Archimedes Claw can be also used during land defense btw.

xcxv.jpg

This is where I am going to end this post, the rest of the game is on the same concept as other strategy games, you collect recources, upgrade technologies and build. I mentioned the most creative aspects of the game, which would be great during a multiplayer game, which people do not unfortunately play.

I hope all of you have a wonderfull weekend, I would love to hear feedback, and if I feel like it, I will post another "unknown?" game I enjoyed playing :).