CRUSADER KINGS 2: HOLY FURY - FUEL FOR THOUGHT

in #gaming6 years ago

Deus Vult

It's that time of the week again where we talk about my most recent Strategy Gamer article.

CRUSADER KINGS 2: HOLY FURY - FUEL FOR THOUGHT

The hardest thing to put together in this article was not the imagery because that was largely provided in the dev notes, and it wasn't the facts because those are thick on the ground – the hardest part was that I had a very, very hard word count limit of 2000 words.

If you haven't read much of the work that I do it may come as some surprise that I have a problem keeping things succinct. I like words, I like looking at words, I like writing words, and for me there is no end to the amount of words that I'm willing to throw out on a specific subject. Especially if I'm interested.

Crusader Kings 2 is not my favorite Paradox game. It is a complicated, detailed, lovingly re-created simulation-game of medieval politics and warfare in the grand strategy vein. It's a little too concentrated on the personal for me to really engage with it as much as I enjoy doing so with Europa Universalis 4 or Stellaris. That doesn't mean that I don't enjoy marrying a woman for her money, forcing her to have my male offspring, then imprisoning her in the dungeon and sacrificing her to Satan as much as the next guy – but you just can't do it all day every day.

Holy Fury looks to be adding content to CK2 such that you could almost begin to see the outlines of an actual RPG hanging out inside the body of this massive grand strategy game, and that's a cool thing. I'm curious as to whether they're going to keep pushing in this direction for CK2, because the more they do so, the more interested I am in following along.

Sort:  

Ah, word limits. The bane of every enthusiastic writer!

I do find CK2 to be a little different from the other Paradox games, and I have to say that Stellaris is my favorite.

Of course, some of this may be down to the fact that I've actually finished a game of Stellaris without winding up in a burned out husk of an empire.

I find it kind of amusing that my editor is pretty aggressive about my column inches limit on a digital publication. I get it, but it's funny.

I finish Stellaris games a lot more frequently than I do any of the other Paradox library, which is also more than a little amusing. In part I think it's because the system is designed such that you are intended to win. Or at least go down fighting. CK2 and EU4 are really geared more toward some kind of elegant failure along the way.

Really, it's just a matter of a game design focusing on a different set of stories to tell.

(Also, man, I'm looking forward to the new MegaCorp expansion ...)

Back when I used to do some freelance writing, it was always funny to see when people would say "Okay, do your thing!" or have highly specific demands about what you should do.

Yeah, part of the thing with Stellaris is that it's fantasy and exploring the unknown. CK and EU are about struggling against reality.

I do want to try out MegaCorp when it arrives. I'm so eager to get a spin with it, even though I'm sure I'll get horribly wrecked by even the easiest AI.

I've honestly been really impressed working with Joe at Strategy Gamer. I made it fairly clear when I signed on to freelance for them that I was perfectly happy to write anything they wanted to see done, I'd make sure he got turned around in hours or days rather than weeks, I'm pretty casual about when I get paid, and I enjoy the material. In return he's been good enough to pitch me things that are pretty interesting, is more than happy to take my input and run with it, fairly forgiving of my personal quirks (though not to the point where he's taking my articles in Markdown yet, but I have hope), and generally just pleasant to work with.

My usual freelancing has been with less tight, self-contained content. I much prefer to write longer pieces with more detail, but this games journalist gig is pretty sweet. And it's nice working with someone who acts as professionally as they're supposed to, which is a surprisingly rare state of affairs, especially in anything associated with gaming.

I do want to try out MegaCorp when it arrives. I'm so eager to get a spin with it, even though I'm sure I'll get horribly wrecked by even the easiest AI.

The longform gameplay videos that the Stellaris guys have been putting out on YouTube are amazing. Honestly, there is no better advertising for a game than seeing the developers playing it, in front of you, talking about what the design decisions are and showing you the whole thing even if there are rough edges and stuff that they know they're going to be refining, and trusting that you as a consumer are as excited as they are about the product. It just about removes any need for the punditry to make comments. The likely audience can see and judge for themselves without any intermediary.

Also, I'm absolutely going to run a criminal syndicate mega-church with a focus on infecting other cultures with my spirituality. It ought to be a lot of fun.

Keep working on getting articles submitted in Markdown. It's so convenient!

Yeah, generally freelancing has been somewhat limited for me. I spend so much time on my own stuff and have dirtied myself with enough conflicts of interest that I don't d o a whole lot, and it 's been a while since I've done any. Plus, I've found that just as I have problems finding decent freelancers, there are a lot of people out there who don't follow through on their end of the bargain when you're a freelancer for them.

I don't really watch the preview videos because I like jumping in and being surprised, but I will say that when I know that companies do community outreach like Paradox and Digital Extremes pride themselves on doing really frequently it's a good sign that they're going to be making games that actually have what gamers want to see. Long, closed development processes are scary.

I'm just excited about having a different way to take to the stars and approach things from a new perspective. I modded Stellaris pretty heavily to get novel experiences with each playthrough, and I look forward to having even more interesting experiences.

Keep working on getting articles submitted in Markdown. It's so convenient!

You're telling me! Unfortunately, some people will forever be wedded to the old cut-and-paste routine from DOCX files. This pains me at levels it is impossible to truly understand, but luckily the Markdown editor I use (Typora) is able to export through Pandoc to a very clean DOCX, so all is not lost.

I edit in my accustomed tools and just export to whatever the client wants. Same as always.

Yeah, generally freelancing has been somewhat limited for me. I spend so much time on my own stuff and have dirtied myself with enough conflicts of interest that I don't d o a whole lot, and it 's been a while since I've done any. Plus, I've found that just as I have problems finding decent freelancers, there are a lot of people out there who don't follow through on their end of the bargain when you're a freelancer for them.

I've been on the other end of trying to manage freelancers enough times that I don't want to be one of "those guys." Though it's always been a lot easier to deal with writers than graphic artists. Writers will be late but they generally deliver what they promise. Artists? They'll be late, deliver something other than what you asked for, and then expect to be patted on the head and praised for it. "Herding cats" would give such management too much credit.

I don't regret not doing that much anymore.

I modded Stellaris pretty heavily to get novel experiences with each playthrough, and I look forward to having even more interesting experiences.

Unless new management blows the whole line altogether, Stellaris looks like it will be one of those games that Paradox selling for many years to come. Both EU and CK say that they are really devoted to keeping things going and providing new content on a regular basis for thing you already own.

Now, making it easier to get in from the ground floor for new users? They could work on that a bit. But if that's the worst thing about their management at this point, they are doing a damn fine job.

Gah, artists. I love artists, but many of them don't freelance well. I've had a ton of artists whose work I love, but who I absolutely can't afford to hire because they don't give me stuff I can use, so I'm just throwing away money to get them to make stuff that doesn't come through in useful resolutions or formats.

I think the whole thing going for Paradox is that they embrace the complexity, and cater to players who don't care about the fact that it's a learning process. I can tell you that I feel like their grand strategy is perhaps even easier than many "simpler" games that are enigmatic because they try to abstract things out. They give you very simple tools, and let you make what you can with them.

CK2 is the best one to write funny after action reports.
Who doesn't cry, when a powerful character dies and his imbecile heir takes over with a long reign full of failures
:))

Nice to see more paradox players here on the blockchain

Stellaris is my least favourite.
Because I just love the what ifs.
Bringing history on different tracks is way to much fun:)

Interestingly, Stellaris is my favorite of the Paradox games, and I say that as someone who has played all of them and put a lot more hours into EU4 than I would like to admit. Part of that is because Stellaris is really a stripped-down refinement of a lot of mechanics that they've developed in previous games and are slowly ramping the detailing complexity up via their DLC, as they tend to do.

But the other reason is because I like being a huge space empire of brain-eating hiveminds who get to develop and design their own spaceships. There's something just innately gratifying to me about getting to start with almost nothing and expanding outwards to establish something absolutely new.

Which means that the new CK2 stuff which allows you to start with Shattered World or Random World really strikes me in my wheelhouse if you turn everything down to "characters are only Counts at best" and you just claw your way up.

I'm definitely a little perverse that way, though.

Currently just replaying a Bohemia scenario in CK2, not so much Holy Furry Fury stuff did happen. Should have chosen a different start, but I like my known grounds.

Stellaris is nice from Gameplay, but it feels like Civ or some other 4x Games. Just fantasy stuff.

And talking hours. 3k+ into eu4, 600+ in HOI4 and.. I don't know how much in CK2, but so where in between those numbers
:)

Yes, I love staring at maps.


@lextenebris, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

"Sorry to see that you are actually using the crypto-commodity underpinnings of this social media platform to buy things that you need. Let's engage in a little public shaming in a random place to let you know that we noticed that you are actually making use of the system to benefit your life instead of just driving up the numbers."

Talk about running bots with tin ears.


Congratulations @lextenebris!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloweeen story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!