Time Lapse | Marine v Worm

in #gaming6 years ago


Hi SteemBeez


Another Masterpiece complete. I am so incredibly pleased with this painting; it combines too amazingly awesome and powerful things together in one image.
INCREDIBLE.

Commissioned from Jiff Slater
Acrylic on Canvas.
Concept: "Starcraft Marine vs a Dune Sandworm."



So, in case you are not too keen on watching paint dry for 18 straight hours, you may watch this video instead.


You can check me out more here:

Facebook

Twitch

Twitter

Instagram

Youtube

Wordpress



Livibee

Sort:  

Hi @livibee,

Love your art and the time lapse video! Definitely the worm.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)

Thank you! :)

Hi @livibee, wonderful timelapse video, it is wonderful to see the whole process of your work, the scene is created really good, the spacesuit has so much details and I love the blue color. The sand worm, reminds me the the creatures from "Dune" the sci-fi that I watched many years ago, nevertheless just one glance was enough to recall my favorite movie.

Such kind words, I really appreciate you taking the time to watch my video. Many thank yous!

Hey, @livibee.

Great time lapse video. You seemed to know exactly what you were going to do and how you were going to do it from the very beginning, and you did it all without the use of any digital tools, it looks like. A throwback artist!

I'd find it very difficult to draw like that on an upright canvas, I think. I've never tried, though—the closest I've come is on a tilted Wacom monitor, which didn't work out very well (for various reasons, mostly because I'm not that great of an artist :).

So, it looks like the painting was created over the course of about four or five days. Is that typical? Do you know how many hours you put in?

And did you use any reference material at all, or did you just do that from memory? Either way, very well done, and very much deserving of a curie upvote.

Which would win—marine or worm.

I'd go with the marine. With the battle armor, even if the worm did try to eat him, it would be tough to shred or grind, and so if the marine wasn't able to get the drop on the worm from the outside, he could blast his way out from the inside. :)

Hahaha yeah it took me quite a while to get used to painting upright as well, I used to paint on the floor all the way until I was a teenager. Then I decided to stream my process live, so the best way I thought for the camera to see would be using the easel.

The whole process took approximately 18 hours to complete and I used about 15 reference images from Starcraft II and Dune to get different angles and shapes I was picturing in my head!

I am so glad you liked it! The Marine would definitely not go down with out a fight thats for sure! haha

Hi livibee,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow I am humbled, thank you!