What games did YOU get???!

in #gaming6 years ago

Hi Everyone!!

Hope you are all recovering from the festive fun!
As said in my last post I got the wonderful looking (yet to play) Champions of Midgard and today another wish came true!

Inns and Cathedrals for Carcassonne!! It's been impossible to get hold of in my local area for soooo long! I had the Traders and Builders expansion so now have the two must have add-ons!!
zm7811_box_front.png
https://www.zmangames.com/en/products/carcassonne-expansion-1-inns-and-cathedrals/

So....What are the games found in your stockings?

Tabletop, RPG, Video???
Let me know!

Sort:  

The Unseen Forces expansion to Elder Sign. I had been avoiding expansions for Elder Sign because my love affair with Mansions of Madness. The they burned me with MoM 2nd edition. So back to Elder Signs!

ahhh 2nd Ed's can be a sad affair if they dont build in backwards compatibility. :(
Sorry to hear.
BUT.... Elder sign is awesome too! UF looks like a great exp. Have you managed a game yet?

Nope. Haven’t played yet. To be fair MoM 2nd Ed. Does work with the components from 1e but you play it with an app now. That’s what bothers me. Do I want to re-invest in a board game I already own that then might be unplayable in 10 years when tech has moved on?

Right I see. Shame really then you will probably get app purchases for stuff too. I see your point mate. Still, hopefully ES:UF will be great and all will work out ok. :)

Elder Sign base game (revised printing, though I'm not familiar with the edition differences). A couple of Exit: The Game scenarios. Kingdomino. And boxes 2-5 of Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Wrath of the Righteous!

Heading to a friend's to try out Gloomhaven tonight and Kingdom Death: Monster tomorrow.

Wow dude!! Thats a serious win for you at Christmas!! Whats the Pathfinder CG like? I had the app version but i doubt it compares to the tabletop game. Gloomhaven eh? @Rantar just got that too (Is he your friend by any chance?!) You have to tell me how good it is, its set to overtake Pandemic : Legacy as the No.1 game!

I've enjoyed Pathfinder ACG a great deal! I've played three different boxes (Rise of the Runelords, Skull & Shackles, and the aforementioned WotR) and they've all been fun for as much of each campaign as we've made it through. The digital version is a surprisingly faithful translation: I don't think they changed any mechanics at all, save for those related to microtransactions. I appreciate having the little storyline vignettes that are absent from the physical game, but it's hard to beat actually meeting up with people around a table and sharing the groans/cheers regarding dice results!

I don't know @Rantar, but I give a cautious thumbs up on Gloomhaven. Somehow I was expecting it to have more of a storyline than it does; it's got lots of little worldbuilding elements, but there doesn't seem to be much going on beyond "you're a band of dirty murder hobos venturing into dark places to kill things and make money". Gameplay was slow-moving thanks to learning curve and lots of small pieces, but it has a lot of clever ideas and I'm looking forward to playing again soon!

I see, so is there a roleplay element in Pathfinder ACG? or individual scenarios? Ive not really looked into it but will perhaps soon. An honest insight into Gloomhaven too thanks!

Individual scenarios, yes. Each big box kicks off a campaign with a particular theme: Runelords is classic "goblins and ogres and zombies" stuff, S&S is pirates, WotR is a demon invasion. If you like the first two adventures that come with the box--each adventure consists of ~5 scenarios, typically three play sessions--you can add on adventure boxes that extend the campaign until an ultimate conclusion several add-ons out.

If you want roleplaying, I imagine you'll have to check out the Pathfinder roleplaying game adventure paths the ACG boxes are based on!

Right!! I see, Ive seen the Adventure path Runelords so the ACG are based on them ok. Ill perhaps get the Adventure path. Thanks elseleth!