Tribute to the Golden Guardians

in #gaming6 years ago

Tribute to the Golden Guardians


ggs medallion.png
ggs medallion, modelled in maya

The Golden Guardians are now out of contention for playoffs in the NALCS. They are at the bottom of the league, having won none of their matches thus far in the second half of the split, despite being once tied for second. Demoralizing? Yes. And yet I love and follow them nevertheless. Partially, because they were the underdogs, but partially because I have always admired their team players. So this is my tribute to GGS.

Below is my sketch of Matt, their support player, whom I followed over from his days in Team Liquid. Even there, he struggled, but I always thought highly of him for his commitment to self-improvement. He's just such a humble guy, down-to-earth and thoughtful. He may be imperfect, but I believe in his capacity to grow.

Quickly, I became a fan of Deftly too. I even remember him heart'ing one of my motivation tweets out to him. He's even been acknowledged by others as a great player, if not the best on GGS right now. Some feel bad for him for being on a team that has "consistently disappointed." But I'm also just so glad that GGS gave him the chance to have a starting spot on the roster and showcase his talents.
matt sketch.jpg

But while I fangirl, I do realize there are many problems in the team. Even in the star players that I like-- just comparing kill participation and vision score stats with other NALCS players. I would not be surprised to see roster changes, and I just hope for the best. But for now? This is my tribute to the GGS who I will continue to support through thick and thin.