Sort:  
Loading...

Lol, when mobbs starts to makes 50 words posts you know steemit is going to shit..

Haha there is definitely Correlation, but the causation doesn't fit - I have a full time job now, for about a month, which is consuming my life while I'm still adjusting

I know I know, Ruthie told me your news :)

Since you asked, I can't say I have many favorite OSTs from the world of gaming, although the ones from an old adventure "the neverhood" have haunted my mind since I first played it when I was about 10 year old:

Full album:

That actually sounds like good music! Did Gogol Bordello or somesuch write this? :D

Terry Scott Taylor
Terry Scott Taylor (born May 24, 1950) is an American songwriter, record producer, writer and founding member of the bands Daniel Amos and The Swirling Eddies (credited as Camarillo Eddy). Taylor is also a member of the roots and alternative music group, Lost Dogs. He is currently based in San Jose, California, U.S.
Taylor is highly regarded for his songwriting skills. These often include allusions to and reworkings of material ranging from Elizabethan poets to modern authors.

But you gotta play the game to really really appreciate

Ahaha I played this yonks ago, it's great! This soundtrack is basically your personal theme, as far as I'm concerned

Totally agree. FFX has the best music I've ever heard in any game.

The only other game I used to have a habit of waiting at the main menu to listen to the music, was Kingdom Hearts. Also an overall incredible soundtrack accurately creating the right vibe in any given location. Then again, it's Square + Disney 😎

Yeah some games have such good introduction tracks haha. I have all the piano collections of Final Fantasy on my phone and listen to it frequently. I really enjoyed the KH OST but the orchestration can be pretty heavy to really stand out

Yeah, it can be heavy. I rarely ever listen to the music outside of playing the game though. I did however, learn "To Zanarkand" on the guitar when we had guitar lessons in school 😆

Perhaps it's time for me to make a proper melodic techno remix of some of my favorites? 🤔

Nostalgia i will call it. 😀😁

One of the reasons I replayed Undertale immediately after I finished it the first time was to experience and appreciate the OST.

You can hear 77 of the 101 tracks for free at Toby Fox's official Bandcamp album... but, while I recommend listening to all of them, I actually recommend just buying the game instead (album included or not). The soundtracks' leitmotifs overlap and intertwine with the game's plot line, and the music is so thick with hints and connections between characters/story that, during the first playthrough, you don't even realize how important the music is to the plot well enough to appreciate the attention Toby put into it. He was making sure you were utterly drenched in his actual message, and I think a lot of players were subconsciously afflicted (which many others who played this game don't understand the toxic-looking extent of).

I'm one of the players who went in completely blind of the story, the characters, and the music (and if this is the first time you've heard of this game, I highly recommend you follow my lead). You shouldn't experience the fanbase's afterglow of appreciation for this game until then. If you're emotionally susceptible to music, this game opens a crack in your head to emotions about friendship and love and hope and hate and loneliness you had no clue you were missing or even thought you had to feel in the first place.

I talked it up way too much. Here's Steam store page link if your interest has been piqued: https://store.steampowered.com/app/391540/Undertale/. This probably should be a review there, but I think it's far more helpful here. I feel this community would understand and appreciate what this game is really about.

Nice plug! I am intrigued and I need to make more use of Steam now I have a laptop that can handle anything. It's always an underappreciated factor in the music, how people fail to realise that the game/movie etc just wouldn't be the same without it, and the composers don't just create random tracks, they work deeply with the developers and directors to get a full understanding of concept at every turn.

As somebody who has written for movies, I can tell you it ain't as easy as simply writing good music!

Love it but i just get more goosbumps from the FF8, 9 osts.

Fisherman’s Horizon, Blue Fields, the one that plays whenever the sorceress is on screen.

Yeah FFX is by no means the best, and actually, I get the most goosebumpy from various FFXI tracks; Kazham, Yuhtunga Jungle, Gustaberg, The Airship (which applies to every game, basically) and so on

Congratulations @mobbs! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I would nominate Rome Total War's OST, but I've been out of the scene for years...