What is the most nostalgic videogame for you?

in #gaming7 years ago

I still remember that when i was a kid, i used to play Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time on my Nintendo 64 when i was 12 years old. My parents didn't quite like the game because of the "violence", but i was simply amazed by it.

maxresdefault.jpg

The graphics at that time were considered spectacular, and that's what drove me in. I still remember how frustrated i was for not knowing how to beat Dodongo's Cavern, that was the first dungeon i had problems with :) There wasn't an easy way to find game tutorials at that time, so it took me a while!

And of course, Super Mario Bros. on the NES... Nostalgia really kicks in whenever i remember about that game. It was actually the first game i have ever played. I didn't have a PC at that time, so i had only consoles at that time.

download (4).png

My dad had his old NES with some cartridges, so he allowed me to play the game. It was so simple, but fun and addictive. Though, it kinda annoyed me that whenever i beat a castle, that mushroom-head guy (I didn't know he was called Toad) said "Thank you Mario, but our princess is in another castle!" Neverthless, it was a fun to play game.

I still play the games above with my RetroPie setup, and i plan to make a tutorial on how to make it yourself, so you can play your favorite retro games ;)


What is the game that makes you want to go back to your childhood? Share your story below!

Sort:  

Earthbound! I get the urge to play every couple years or so..still a great game to enjoy even these days!
I made a post on alternatives to the snes classic hype. Raspberry Pi's are fun little toys =]

Yeah, i remember playing Earthbound at my friends house. He had problems with beating Giygas, so he wanted me to help him. Not to mention, it took us a while to figure that "Pray" was the way to go :)

That whole scenario to play alone as young one was definitely a memorable experience...haha! Great stuff, upvote.

I played a ton of Ogre Battle 64 on Nintendo 64. Nintendo 64 just had a lot of great games.


I would play that game so much. I loved it!

This looks like a fun game, i will try it on my RetroPie!

LodeRunner. Prince of Persia. Contra :)

Contra was a beast! The NES version was awesome, but Contra 3 for SNES blew me away. I sunk a lot of hours into that game with my friends! Couldn't get into the newer ones as much, though.

I would say Zelda or maybe Contra. I remember playing them a lot. or Time Quest but I never was able to make sure that was the real name hahaha
Or a game about volleyball players who were fighting thugs hahah or MegaMan

I think my golden time was the golden age of Warcraft 3, loved that community and their maps that they have created!

It'll maybe be Heroes of Might and Magic.. or C&C.

I could pretend some would go above those, but these two are the honest answers. They both were a big thing when I really started to play games and when I think about gaming as a child, these two come to my mind :)

I still do a nightmare run on it now and then to this day. Don't get me started on Doom I/II.

quake

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Redectro from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.