Super Mario World (The Secret Stage You Never Knew About)

in #gaming6 months ago (edited)

Untitled-1.png

I played and beat the Super Mario World game on the original NES when I was just a wee youngster and as anyone who has played the game knows, its a fun and amazing game. We aren't going to go over too many of the game play details in this post but what I do want to go over is the number of exits possible in the game as a whole. Exits meaning how many ways is there in total to beat every stage. I can remember when first playing as a youngster and making it to 96 exits (stages completed in various ways) and thinking there has to be another four. There is no way Nintendo would decide on 96 being the total stage exits, what type of monster would go to 96 and stop; it has to be 100 exits . I have no clue on how many countless hours I spent looking for exits 97, 98, 99 and 100 but it was allot. Guess what, I never found them. The Reason: there isn't four more stages, the total exits possible ends at 96. Now lets move forward to present day and the Mini NES that has multiple classic NES games on it; Super Mario World being one of them. In my great wisdom that I earned so many years prior I knew that there were 96 exits (no way I let Nintendo trick me twice) and I was determined to find them all. Should be a walk in the park right? After-all I'm an adult now and if kid me can beat the game surely adult me can.

WRONG (Maybe?)

Well (sigh) , I played and managed to find 94 exits and completed them. The hardest stage exit for me to complete was the last mini castle just before Mario ventures to the main castle where Bowser is located. Yes, that one; it was the back-door entry to Bowsers castle that stumped me. I for the life of me could not remember how to complete the exit until by sure luck I found it. Finally one more exit completed but wait isn't there suppose to be 96? What am I forgetting, then it hits me. Isn't there a secret YOSHI Level that can be found in world one? You know the stage with all the little YOSHI's on top of a Tree that has a Chimney and Fire Place on it. Memories start flooding in. I need to go up or down that chimney to unlock the secret YOSHI stage. So I go to do just that and to my surprise it can't be done. Am I doing something wrong? I spend more time than I like to admit trying to figure this out but in the end I cave and ask my good friend google. Apparently the secret Yoshi stage was a hack job and not part of the original copies (Mind Blown). I'm now questioning if I ever fully completed this game. Upon further investigation I found a video on YouTube that shows the exact "secret entrance" I'm referring to here in this post.

Here Is The Video

So there you have it a "secret" level in Super Mario World that you might not of known about. Or if you are like me a secret level in a game that you did not know was hacked in. Looks like I got some Super Mario World exits to find. Its very likely I must of missed an exit or two in the "Secret Star World" stages so I'll start their first and if that doesn't work I'l go redo all the stages that have a red glowing emblem as those all do have multiple exits. I'll find all those 96 exits yet. Upon reflecting on this I realized, "Wait a minute Rentmoney, isn't there a secret exit in the supply stage, you know the one with the fire power and flying power and Yoshi but no enemies". So away I go to see if my memory is correct or am I just bamboozling myself again. The exit (if memory recalls correctly) required Mario to use flying power and fly straight up. I did so (a few times) and tried multiple other things. Oh no is this another case of what we just went over (another hacked in stage). I'm just going to assume so as it simply does not exist on the Mini NES version of Super Mario World.

Super Mario World Stages

The game (SMW) begins on Dinosaur Island, and eventually progresses to feature seven distinct areas and two secret locations. Each world features a variety of levels, many with multiple exits. There are 72 levels (not including Yoshi's House and Top Secret Area), 24 of them have a secret exit for a total of 96 goals in the entire game and finding all of them will reap a reward.

The game (SMW) was produced by Shigeru Miyamoto, featuring music composed by Koji Kondo, and graphics designed by Shigefumi Hino. Miyamoto has stated that ever since they finished Super Mario Bros., the design staff wanted to have Mario ride a dinosaur. It was believed to be impossible technically until the Super NES was developed. According to Miyamoto, sixteen people were involved in the creation of the game, and it took about three years to make Source

The above is a quote from Nintendo Wiki and thankfully shows at the very least I was right about the 96 exits being correct. As noted above there are 72 levels. These levels span across seven worlds: World 1- Yoshi's Island, World 2- Donut Land, World 3- Vanilla Dome, World 4- Twin Bridges, World 5- Forest of Illusion, World 6- Chocolate Island, World 7- Valley of Bowser, plus two secret areas named (1) Star World and (2) Special World. Its amazing the creators of this game were able to fit in so much game play that included finding secret areas within secret areas. The entertainment value Super Mario World brought to us so many years ago still holds true to this day. A game that stood the test of time and to this day is a very fitting way to pass the time. A game that can be easy enough to play for the youngest of gamers but also can pose a fun challenge for those who are more experienced.

List Of Games On Mini NES CLASSIC

Contra III: The Alien Wars
Donkey Kong Country
Kirby Super Star
Kirby's Dream Course
Secret of Mana
Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting
Super Mario Kart
Super Mario World
Final Fantasy III
Super Castlevania IV
EarthBound
F-ZERO
Mega Man X
Star Fox
Star Fox 2
Super Ghouls 'n Ghosts
Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
Super Metroid
Super Punch-Out!!
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
Yoshi's Island

Which One Should I Play Next?

Did you know about the stage featured in this post?

Out of the games listed, which is your favorite?

Sound off in the comment section below!

Untitled-1.png
Image Source: (1), (2), (3)

Sort:  

Donkey Kong for next game. I loved it. I'm a bit older and fell in love with Donkey Kong, the arcade version. We would play at lunch in a convenience store near school. Led to lots of tardy slips when we got good enough to play longer than lunch break on a quarter lol

Donkey Kong it is, I still have nightmares about the Mine Cart Carnage stage :) That is an awesome story, thanks for sharing it. I can certainly see how one would easily get caught up in playing and end up with some late slips :)

That's a great hack! Most romhacks are shit. They just change a few sprites or add some dumb joke. But there are a few that go above and beyond, making the game so much better. Of the games you list, one of the absolute best romhacks is for Zelda 3:

https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/2594/

Thanks for sharing the Zelda 3 hack. Downloads for the hacked I shared in this post can be found in the shared videos description. It was updated two years ago by the youtuber who created the video. Full disclosure, I haven't tested them.

I was in 4th grade when the Super NES came out. In Super Mario World, I don’t remember trying to find all the exits/secret levels. What I remember most is that I found the overhead map of the levels fascinating. I also thought the music in most levels was very catchy. Finally, I remember it took me many many attempts to beat Bowser in the final battle. I think it involved flinging shells.

You should play Contra 3 next. I spent almost as many hours playing it as I did Super Mario World.

The overhead map is indeed interesting. There are some spoofs of it out there that shape it to the world map. You would be correct that flinging was required to defeat Bowser but it wasn't shells it was two of his henchmen that you first had to jump on to make dizzy. You could then pick them up and fling them upwards to hit Bowser. This repeated for three cycles/ six hits at which point Bowser would be defeated. Contra 3 has been noted, I'll give it a shot after Donkey Kong.

It was my favorite childhood game and we played it a lot and I miss this game a lot but don't get time to play it because of it I had a great childhood.

Time is something we get too little of.

Thanks for sharing your experience with the game.

Most welcome dear.

I have only played the original mario game before (I think it's the original xD)
I played it on the same nintendo as seen on the last photo of your post, my dad bought the nintendo out of nostalgia and we had quite a bit of fun completing the game hundreads of times xD

image.png

Yes, Super Mario Bros is an original NES game. Its great to read that both you and your dad enjoyed playing Super Mario Bros together (That flying fish stage is a killer). Nostalgia is the reason for our families purchase of the MINI as well. Super Mario World was released on the Super NES, the system that was built after The NES. Both very fun systems.

Classic game. Fond memories!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@rentmoney(7/10) tipped @ndk.focus