You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Competitive Gaming In The Old School: What It Meant To The Best

in #gaming7 years ago

Definitely miss those couch matches. It's just not the same any more. Even playing competitively on your PC 15 years ago online, was much different. Smaller communities, you'd see the same people--it was nice! I tried to play Xbox a few years ago, and you're just thrown into a random room of 12 year old kids that you'll never play/see again. I don't understand the attraction to that. Oh well - this is to 'old school' couch and pc gaming.

Sort:  

To the Old School!

Yeah it takes a lot of stamina and effort to put together a group of people you know to play a game at least most of you like or are just willing to play together. I couldn't convince my friends to by Torchlight 2 for 4 dollars to play with me from Cambodia! ...haters.

That said, as much of that is age and responsibilities and commitments as much as the style of games. For one shining moment, many people I know managed to play Destiny from all across the country. It was beautiful. That kind of persistent world, high quality action gaming is literally the dream machine I had when I was 10. And that keeps getting better at least.

I can definitely say one thing I haven't really focused on in this new world is making new friends. So maybe we'll get us an old man group together ^_^