Humble Jumbo Bundle 11 is great! (+ short review of some of the games inside)

in #gaming6 years ago

Hi everyone! First off, link for the lazy


Image of a cutout from the bundle page because apparently posts with images work better and are noticed easily ^^"

I guess by now everyone knows about humble bundle and checks now and then if it's interested, but since a quick search on steemit didn't reveal many results, I've decided to create this post. Humble bundle is a website offering bundles of great games for a cheap "choose your own price" price tag, and giving part of the profits to charity.

As with most bundles, this one has great value if you don't own some of the games inside of it. I got the halfway tier because I wasn't interested in the 15$ game, and I think that I've already gotten more than my money's worth out of it, just from a couple of games.

Now, about those games, the two I've tried:

Domina

Great managment game set in the Rome of the gladiators. You become Domina (the owner) of a gladiator school, and you have a year to make it great. You can hire employees that will help improve the morale, equipment and performance of your gladiators, but you can only have three, so you need to choose which ones are better. You need to decide which gladiators to hire, whether to buy slaves or half-trained ex-legionnaires, and which fights to participate in and with whom. You can also research technologies that give improvements, and with one of them you can manually control gladiators in combat, but I didn't try it out, because I liked the managment + autoplay better.

The game is kind of hard (until you learn what's best at least), and pretty unforgiving, but it's kind of short. In 7 play hours I did two full playthroughs and another two half-way, dropping them when I decided things were going too bad to be able to recover in time. I don't want to make any spoilers, but if you can't stand learning by failure, check some "beginner guides" or "important tips" (just google it XD) before playing to avoid frustration. And if you don't want to check guides, be sure to read every tooltip to understand how things work, since there's no tutorial.

Orwell

This one reminds me a lot of a visual novel, and I usually don't like that genre much, but I'm enjoying it a lot. I finished a playthrough in maybe 4 hours and I started a second one immediatly to see where other choices leave.

To give a brief summary without spoilers, the game puts you in the place of a "investigator" using a novel software that lets you check lots of things about the investigated people (their e-mail, blogs, facebook equivalent, etc), and you have to select which bits are important and need to go into file, and which ones are not, while also deciding which version is the truth when conflicting facts appear. Through this decissions you will influence how the story plays out and what happens to people.

If just this doesn't seem to interesting but you trust me just a bit and you like science fiction, give it a try. The setup is really good, and it raises some interesting questions (if in a not-too-subtle way) about privacy and the limits of freedom in the name of safety.

Others

You can check the rest of the games following the link, and honestly, I can't wait to have time to play them. I loved Tropico 3, and Tropico 5 seems like more of the same with maybe some extras (since it comes with some DLC). Kingdom: New Lands also includes Kingdom: Classic, and the concept seems really interesting. I loved N, so I expect N++ to be awesome. And I've not even mentioned all of the games because some of the others I didn't know at all, but they look interesting enough that I may want to try them at some point.

So, I'll shut up now, I think I've made my point. If you have ~5$ to spare and some time to kill playing games, consider taking this bundle!

Sort:  

This post received a free Upvote. Get your free Upvote NOW! Just follow @freeupvote