Demaking Dark Souls: Why A SNES-era JRPG?

in #gaming6 years ago

In my last post, I expressed interest in designing a retro-looking JRPG that incorporates some of the game design elements that make the Dark Souls series so special for so many gamers.

A JRPG? Aren't these, like, super dated?

For this "Snark Souls" project, the JRPG is my genre of choice for two main reasons:

  1. It's the only kind of game I can practically make myself without spending tons of time learning new things (which I probably should, but that's another story altogether). I'm not a coder, nor is becoming one among my short-term goals. The only game development software I'm fairly proficient with is RPG Maker MV, and that's what I'm going to be using.

  2. Dark Souls games are, to the core of their design philosophies, JRPGs. They evolved from the likes of Zelda, Castlevania, and (less obviously) games like the Dragon Quest and Final Fantasy series. For me, thus, these are the most natural kinds of games to retroactively enrich with the design philosophy of the Dark Souls games.

Did you just say RPG Maker? Ew!

Yes, there is a certain notoriety around RPG Maker games, one not totally uncalled for. It's hobbyist game development software that's relatively easy to use, and that low entry barrier attracts many inexperienced and immature users.

Seeing how the whole Snark Souls thing is more an experimental proof of concept than an attempt at creating a commercially viable product, RPG Maker MV will have to do just fine.

So, what's it gonna be like?

That's what this series of posts is going to be discussing. From art style and narrative design to combat system and puzzle elements, I'm going to be sharing my viewpoints on this project with you.

Just keep an eye on #snarksouls! Ta-ta!

Leave your replies below, and resteem so that this post can reach more people and create a meaningful conversation!



Image Source
Image Source

Sort:  

Congratulations @snarksnark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hmm...I always interested in playing game.But,as I think higher graphics game needs a lot many collaboration

That's why I'm going for something retro-looking. In fact, I am considering using graphical assets from this fine gentleman's site.

Sir,I actually used your tag, that one steempoweredstories today for a new fiction. if you don't like it,I will change that...
You and fictionspawn are very friendly and helpful always,thank you sir..
And I also,reblog one of your article ,hope you don't mind?