Has No Mans Sky redeemed itself ?

in #gaming6 years ago

The game no mans sky was released on the 9th of August 2016. The hype around this game was huge to say the least, with features being shown off such as;
massive multiplayer servers
Large scale faction wars
An Almost infinite amount of visually stunning planets to explore.

Yet when the game finally released, players where surprised to find none of this in game. Outrage from customers and the community at large led developer Sean Murray to go silent for months on Twitter, But then, radio silence was broken and a “foundation update” was released. This update added a, well foundation for the games future. Features such as base building, freighters and vehicles got some players somewhat interested again.

But now, months later in 2018, they released “NEXT”. A huge update improving on every mechanic. Base building anywhere, fleets of freighters, complete overhaul of UI and key elements of the game, as well as new ringed planets and more variation between them, and most importantly multiplayer
Now, as a player of this game since release, I can happily say these updates and this once in particular has reignited a long lost interest in a game with so much potential, but sadly I still find the game lacking in a drive. A sense of mystery and purpose which leads players to continue exploring such a vast universe just simply isn’t there. This is not to say it isn’t a fun game, but as a $60 game on release it just still isn’t worth it in my opinion.

How do you feel about this update? Have you even heard of this game?

Sort:  

I tried the game. It got boring very quickly though. I have little children and an 18yo son, so lately I went crazy and renewed my World of Warcraft account. Crazy, right? Hey, at least the game works and is fun, and best of all it has content for my little kids (it helps them learn to read better too) and for me.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is decidedly so

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.