A Space Engineer Story: Stranded - Day 14

in #gaming6 years ago

It worked. I found a way to scan for ore deposits deep underground.

With the lander ship unable to lift off - and without the possibility to build another large ship for now - I had to make use of what's left. The large ore scanner module is still operational and after dismantling parts of the lander's hull it was possible to move it to the construction platform.

I guess I'm getting really good at piloting this small drilling ship. The ore scanner is undamaged and although it is a bit heavy, all it took was some careful maneuvering and the rest was pretty easy. It sounds trivial but a lot can go wrong when lifting a device like this from ground and moving it around. I only had this one chance to get it right.

Equipped with a connector, the scanner could now be used for a more thorough survey of the area.

I finally found a silver ore deposit less than 1km from the base. Unbelievable.
With the increased 150m scan range it was actually pretty easy to spot. I did scan the area at least twice with just the small detector and with that one I'd probably still be searching.

The second refinery is almost completed and I have almost enough material to build a reactor core for the new ship. I can't wait to start construction.

I still haven't picked a name yet.


Previous journal entries:
Day 1 - Day 2 - Day 3 - Day 4 - Day 5 - Day 6 - Day 7 - Day 8 - Day 11


My main account: https://steemit.com/@christianunger