A Space Engineer Story: Stranded - Day 4

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Day 4 without being able to make contact. I'm barely getting any sleep. The humming sound of all the machines and computers in the lander is driving me nuts.
Last night I went outside to get my head clean. It's strange how it felt like in normal atmosphere - the suit's oxygen supply is the same as the one in the lander, but it was as if going out to "get some fresh air".
Maybe it is the silence, the only sound you notice being yourself breathing.
But come to think of it, it's always been a bit like this when going on EVA up in space. This feeling of calm and lightness although breathing itself is much harder in this suit.

Am I going crazy? I need to keep myself occupied.

The area around looks plain and empty. Even if there aren't any big trading hubs or even cities in this part of the galaxy that doesn't mean there couldn't be any hostile smuggler hideouts. There even have been rumors about "research" facilities being out here - hidden corporate complexes for not-so-legal experiments, usually guarded by mercenaries who shoot first and ask questions later. Authorities are rarely present so far in the outer regions and some corporations can be very protective about their business. I need to be careful.

I was able to complete the landing platform and started constructing the exploration ship. I decided to go for a simple configuration: strong upwards thrusters for hovering, small thrusters for maneuvering, except the forward facing thrusters which are also larger versions. These are usually only required for braking but I also added 2 large drills and will need the extra thrust to keep the ship floating above ground when mining.
In addition to the ore scanner I also mounted a spotlight and cameras on the ship hull.
There is no oxygen tank or O2 generator. I'm not planning to do extended trips for now. A couple oxygen bottles will do perfectly fine. They'll have to.

A test of the upwards thrusters at full power was successful. I should be able to finish construction by tomorrow - I can't wait to do a first recon flight!


I'm a computer gamer.
I like sandbox games.

Sandbox games often don't have much of a storyline. But you can always invent your own.
This is the story of an engineer and his journey.
This is my story of playing Space Engineers.
It is a diary and it is a game walkthrough. But most of all it is meant to be fun.
I hope you will like it.


Previous journal entries:
Day 1 - Day 2 - Day 3

Sort:  

This ole boy can get a lot of stuff done in four days! I'd hire him in a second!
Great storyline​, awesome pictures too. CARRY ON! My friend.

Congratulations @spacefarer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!