A Space Engineer Story: Stranded - Day 7

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

I feel as if it's been weeks since I have ended up here. This is day 7 of my diary, stranded on a lifeless planet and without contact to my fleet - or any human soul at all.

The machines and devices in the lander ship are now barely running anymore. With the refinery and assembly line dismantled for parts, the only sound is the hissing noise of the oxygen supply, accompanied by the mechanical sounds of the venting system. And the humming of the ship computer systems. It is not as loud as it had been before, yet I find it even more annoying.

I get short of breath when I stay in the lander for too many hours. I'm tired and yet I can't sleep. Last night I checked the levels of the life support system several times, compared them to the suit's environmental display. Even as the level of oxygen is perfectly on target and even constant to 0.1% - I had the feeling that I'm running out of breathable air.

There are two other planets in this solar system. One of them is also lifeless, even more than this one with an atmosphere full of toxic fumes. The other one should be the habitable planet, our mission objective. I can see both planets in the sky so at least this checks out - I am pretty confident that I am in the right solar system.

Although I have decided to build a base for further exploration and - if necessary - assembling a more advanced space ship, I have to think about alternatives.

I could use the ice around here and strap hydrogen thrusters onto the small mining ship. These would easily get me into space, but what then? The planet's moon is within reach. If I save enough hydrogen, I could manage to land there. And once I'm there? What if there is no one ? What if I end up stranded there, again, with even less resources?

There could be some small asteroids and if I find one with an ice deposit I could use that to continue my journey. I would need an oxygen generator on the ship though. More weight to get off planet. More weight that could get me crashing into ground even if I can make it to the moon.

And then there is the other planet. The planet where I will find my colleagues, friends. They have to be there.
The longer I stay here the less likely I'll find them. The fleet could already have established an outpost there. I could just make it into space, steer the ship towards the planet's direction and accelerate with all the hydrogen that I have. Once I make it there and the atmospheric thrusters start working, I'm saved.
I could crash into an asteroid though.
A battery malfunction would mean the thrusters couldn't stop my ship in time once I've entered atmosphere.
And floating through space, unable to escape or even navigate out of harms way, I would be easy prey for pirates.

If I stay here I can plan. Build, gather resources. I could survive here and stay as long as required. But how much longer can I take it? Days? Weeks? Months?


I'm a computer gamer.
I like sandbox games.

Sandbox games often don't have much of a storyline. But you can always invent your own.
This is the story of an engineer and his journey.
This is my story of playing Space Engineers.
It is a diary and it is a game walkthrough. But most of all it is meant to be fun.
I hope you will like it.


Previous journal entries:
Day 1 - Day 2 - Day 3 - Day 4 - Day 5 - Day 6


My main account: https://steemit.com/@christianunger

Sort:  

Super story ✅

thank you! i'm glad you enjoyed it so far.