A Space Engineer Story: Stranded - Day 8

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Day 8. I better start sticking to a daily routine. Every day I'd first take the ship and scout a new part of the area. Go down just above ground on the way back, scan for deposits. Then continue with construction work on the new base facilities. As soon as the ship batteries are recharged again I'd take off again and start mining. Get more uranium ore. And silicon.

The lander ship is now an empty hull and soon I will salvage the rest of it. I'll build a new living quarter with life support system, attached to the new base. No rash decisions, no leaving the planet and trying my luck. I'd probably end up floating in space. A lifeless body in a dead ship, never to be rescued.

I have to find more resources. Silver, gold, platinum, cobalt, nickel. Precious metals that will allow me to build the required ion thrusters and additional power supplies if I want to survive in space. I will need a new, larger ship.

There were no more supply drops in the past days. I am on my own.

The first refinery is complete and is processing the remaining uranium ore for now. The assembler is also working and I'm planning to have 2 more refineries running for all the iron and other ore that I require. If I can find it, somewhere. I've done this a dozen times before. It was part of our assignment, I just need to focus and get done with it.

Two or three more days and I should be able to start working on the new ship. It will have to be a lot more powerful and it will have to carry a bunch of resources and fuel along. At least enough so I can make it back to base if things go wrong.

And I will need a name for the ship, of course.


I'm a computer gamer.
I like sandbox games.

Sandbox games often don't have much of a storyline. But you can always invent your own.
This is the story of an engineer and his journey.
This is my story of playing Space Engineers.
It is a diary and it is a game walkthrough. But most of all it is meant to be fun.
I hope you will like it.


Previous journal entries:
Day 1 - Day 2 - Day 3 - Day 4 - Day 5 - Day 6 - Day 7


My main account: https://steemit.com/@christianunger