DIY Mortal Kombat Table

in #gaming7 years ago

Hi Guys, I Work in signage & I thought I would share a little coffee table project I made using a rejected lightbox.

  1. We had this lightbox that we did for a client cut out of 3mm ACM using a router. Unfortunately the person operating the router didn't look what he was doing so he cut the box wrong way around. Sitting with a choice of throwing the entire thing away or making something cool with it, I decided that the shape is perfect for a coffee table in my gaming room. Being a fan of gaming and the Mortal Kombat series I came up with a design. 20141024_170208.jpg
    Just to be clear, at no point did I make this with the intention of selling it or making money of it. This is purely for personal use.

  2. After I was happy with my basic design it was time to start making the extras. 3mm clear Perspex backing to go inside the "reject box" covered with some black vinyl. 20141022_164138.jpg

  3. Next was the frame. Basic 25mm square tube steel with 50mm legs. About 500mm. Later powdercoated black20141222_165004.jpg

  4. After finishing the frame we check to see if the box fits over the frame. 20141222_164835.jpg
    Perfect.

  5. Next I finish it of with a MK logo cut out of the same ACM material & 6mm toughened glass with glass rubbers underneath the glass to hold it in place. 20141223_200039.jpg
    And there we go. One awesome looking coffee table.

and as a little bonus, seeing how it should have been a lightbox, I decided too keep the LED lighting inside just for the fun of it. 20141223_200120.jpg
Looks much cooler in person!!

And that's it guys. I hope you liked my post. This is actually my very first post EVER so I really hope you enjoyed it & let me know what you think.