Animal Husbandry in Ashes of Creation

in #gaming6 years ago

Hi friends!
Today I’m reading from a script because when I tried to record this video freestyle I went into a rant about cheaters and exploits and stuff and it wasn’t good. [lol] sorry.

Anyway, today’s video is all about Animal Husbandry! I know everyone is talking about combat because Alpha 1 is out, but I’m not doing that for several reasons.

First, I can’t get in the Alpha until October, and second, I don’t have a computer strong enough to play it, record it, or even edit the footage from it. This laptop is so old even editing this video was hard for it. I went into a rant here too so, yeah. Oops. Basically, I’ve been entering online sweepstakes since February to try to win a computer and instead I’ve won a bunch of different components to build one. I’m about $500 away from being able to build a gaming computer from scratch, but that’s a different story for another vlog. Will I be able to do it in the next 9 months? I think so.

Speaking of the Alpha, they are testing the combat systems right now so if you search YouTube that’s all you will see. They are currently testing the Fortnite mode, soon they will test the castle siege mode, then the horde mode. This should all be finished by October and at that time they will let in 5,000 people at a time to stress test the server. That means they are testing how it will do under a heavy load with all those people playing at the same time. Which makes your chances of getting in, really, really good.

That’s when I’ll be able to play. If you would like to join in and play, now is the time to sign up on the website. The sign up process is pretty simple. It’s just like signing up to any website. That’s all there is to it. You will receive a code to put in and you’ll be in the Alpha stress phase that starts this October. Please use my referral link so I get credit. When you sign up you’ll get your own referral link so you can invite your friends too.

Anyway, let’s get to Animal Husbandry!
Here’s what we know so far.

To begin with you’ll need a Freehold, and a barn.
To get a Freehold your node will need to reach level 3, which is the village stage. This will take about 3 or 4 days from the time you start your first Encampment. Encampment is level 1.

If you join a village that is already at level 3 you can start your freehold right away.

Next, you will need Blueprints and Materials to build a barn. I’m assuming that Freeholds are very basic and consist only of a house and land. Or maybe just land. I think you’ll need to build everything else from scratch.

To get Blueprints, you find them in the world, or buy them. To get Materials you buy them or chop down trees. Barns are probably made of wood, and maybe a little iron for nails. Maybe some thatch for the roof. Dunno. I’m just guessing here.

So here is your first tip. This channel will have lots of Animal Husbandry tips on it in the future. But no exploits or hacks. Ahem. Enough said about that. Delete rant here. lol

I’m going to tell you my strategy and maybe you will want to copy it. First, you’ll want to chop down wood, then you want to take that wood and sell it to the boat builders. Because boat builders need a lot of wood. Then you take the money they give you and go to the mines to buy the Barn Blueprints. Why mines? Because miners don’t really need barns. They love mining. If they find barn blueprints in the world they will probably sell them so they can buy Forge blueprints.

Once you get the Barn Blueprints you can read them and see what kind of materials you need. If you need iron you can get it while you’re there. If you need Thatch you can pick up some seeds on your way home. Then plant them as soon as you can so it can grow while you are out chopping down more wood for your barn.

So, you might be wondering why you need a barn. Well, that’s where the animals will do their thing. You know, make babies. They will need stables. There might be seperate blueprints for that. Don’t know.

As your barn gets bigger you will be able to breed more animals at a time. Your barn will grow as your node grows, and also as you upgrade it. If you are hardcore into Animal Husbandry you might not want to spend your time with other things, like a Shrine, or different furniture for your Freehold. You might want to put all your effort into upgrading your barn. It’s up to you. It’s your adventure.

Now let’s talk about animals. I’m thinking that your basic farm animals will be the first things you breed. Chickens, cows, pigs, maybe baby goats. Things like that. Not only will these be Best Sellers, they are the easiest to catch and tame. These animals will also give you a basic income to grow your Freehold. You will also be able to buy these animals in the market.

After farm animals, you will probably breed pets from animals you catch in the wild. Pets are smaller than mounts and easier to catch and tame. Stephen has already said that some animals will try to kill you so you’ll need some combat skills to catch them. Pets don’t sound that dangerous to me so they’ll probably come after farm animals.

As your combat experience grows you will be able to catch and breed Battle Pets. They are smaller than mounts but require a little combat experience. After Battle Pets you can graduate to Mounts. Mounts are large creatures that people can ride or use as mules. You’ll need more combat experience to catch a tiger than to catch a peacock.

So my strategy here is to get the basic farm animals going and bringing in an income, then I’ll go out and explore the world to catch some exotic pets. While I’m out in the world catching pets I’ll start working on my battle experience so I can progress to Battle Pets, then it’s just breeding and battles until I can breed Mounts.

Next, let’s talk about what you should breed. Probably. These are just guesses.

For Pets I would go for cute animals. Otter/Panda, Fox/Raccoon, stuff like that. Also, Tulnar might want to have pets that look like them. Like a Mini-Me kind of thing. You might breed pets that look like Tulnar, if that’s possible.

For Battle Pets I would go for birds. People on ships will want to send their birds to attack other players on enemy ships. I predict birds will be popular with the sea folk.

For Mounts there are two types. The kind that carry people and the kind that carry goods. For people transports I would go for speed and stamina. Like a Cheetah/Horse. For cargo transport I would go for strength and either Stamina, or Health Points, if they can be attacked. Like a Camel/Hippo.

When you create a new animal you will be able to customize it’s look and stats. For instance, you get 20 points and you can spend them on different things, like Speed, Stamina, Health Points, Hit Points, etc.. You also get sliders for the different attributes like Horns, Fur, Teeth, Size, etc… so you can customize each animal and make it look unique. This creates endless possibilities.

Of course, being an animal breeder has its perks. You can custom make your own animals and keep the best ones for yourself. Everyone else will have to take whatever is sold in the market, but you can make whatever you want and have the only one. Armadillo/Turtle? It’s yours!

Thanks for watching this video and I hope you found some helpful tips. I’ll be doing random Ashes of Creation videos up until Beta 1 starts in 9 months. I backed Ashes in their Kickstarter phase at Pioneer level so I have access to both Beta 1 and Beta 2 and hopefully my gaming computer will be up and running by then so I’ll be able to show you some in game footage. Most of the NDAs will be over by then too, and it’s also when the crafting systems will be online so I can show you overviews of those. I’ll try to give you previews of the different crafting systems with a focus on Animal Husbandry since that will be my profession.

Be sure to sign up now with my referral link so you can try the combat for yourself in the open Alpha come October, and ring my bell so you’ll know when I upload new videos. I’ll have lots of walkthroughs and tutorials coming in the future. Thanks!

Sort:  

@sunfrog, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!