How I got into gaming, and my first games!

in #gaming7 years ago

I was lucky enough to be introduced to video games at a very young age thanks to my father. As a toddler I remember watching him play classics such as Doom and Wolfenstein 3D on his old beige desktop. Mom never liked the games he played, but I thought they were awesome.

PC

I believe the very first game I ever played was Jazz Jackrabbit, a MS-DOS game from 1994 (a year prior to my birth!) created by Epic MegaGames. Fun fact, they are still alive and kicking today and are the creators behind the well know franchises Unreal Tournament & Gears of War!
Jazz.gif
I only had the freeware demo version, but I still loved playing the same stages over and over

Another title I loved by Epic Megagames was One Must Fall 2097, a futuristic fighting game. It was essentially Mortal Kombat with giant piloted robots. It even had fatalities! The controls were too confusing for me, so I just spammed kick over and over. I still play this game every few years, customizing your robot and making it unique is a great time.


A stellar theme, really hypes you up and gets you in the mood to wreck some bots.

Other notable PC titles for me would be Duke Nukem 3D, Treasure Mountain, and Tyrian! Thinking back on it now, I'm surprised my parents let me play Duke at such a young age. All the adult themes totally flew over my head though, I just wanted to kill aliens!

SNES
My family also happened to purchase a Super Nintendo a bit later on, woohoo! The SNES is my 2nd favorite console of all time, it has so many amazing games that still hold up to today's standards. But GameCube will always be #1 in my heart ♥

I vividly remember playing TMNT IV: Turtles In Time with my older brothers as soon as we hooked up our SNES to the TV. Slash was such a difficult boss, he would always wreck us in the Prehistoric level. slash.jpg
STOP BLOCKING MY ATTACKS AND TELEPORTING BEHIND ME %*$&!

We did eventually beat the game quite a few times though. One of my favorite beat em' ups. Donatello was my favorite :) he had the longest range!

Super Mario World is a classic and favorite of mine. I remember picking this game out at Funcoland! (Whatever happened to Funcoland anyway? RIP) SMW is easily in the top 100 games of ALL TIME, in my opinion. I really loved this game because of all the secret stages and levels, and I thought the different colored Yoshi were so cool. I loved the blue Yoshi, he was my favorite. I never did beat all the Star World stages... I should do that sometime!
14630_front.jpg
Yoshi lookin' smug ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Last but not least, Megaman X, my introduction to the Megaman series. I'll be honest, I couldn't even beat Chill Penguin as a youngin. I was awful at the game, and it took me many years of practice to finally beat all 8 Mavericks, and then the Sigma stages, and then finally Sigma himself. I was so proud of myself when I finally completed it.
MMXss.gif
Getting Hadouken from Armored Armadillos stage is one of the coolest easter eggs ever.

Other SNES games I remember playing very early on were Donkey Kong Country 2 and The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, both amazing games. I'd love to do a write up on my favorite SNES games in the future!

So, there's a handful of my earliest video gaming memories from little 3-4 year old me. What was your first video gaming experience? First console? Let me know below!

Sort:  

My introduction to the gaming world was Pokemon Red and it was not my gameboy. The game I extensively played and pushed me into the RPG genre is Pokemon Gold. This was the game that I played for many hours and once I beat the elite four, the best moment was I was able to enter Kanto the first time. The first gaming non-mobile console I played is the Nintendo/Playstation 1 at the same time. Crash Bandicoot, Taken 3, Pokemon Stadium 1/2, Paper Mario.
Also would love to hear your opinion about the new SNES mini console.

This brings back memories, I think everyone played Jazz Jackrabbit at some point in their life.

jazz-jackrabbit was the bomb! still remember the dos sounds the game made

Congratulations @ushinaitakunai! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It's nice to see other people talking about video games, especially since my life was full of that kind of things when I was really young.

I think my first video game on PC was Age of Empires 1 and also House of the Dead. I loved Age of Empires for some reason, and whenever I played at a neighbor's house, I refused to even go to the bathroom, just to avoid loosing at the game.

I cried the first time I played House of the Dead being scared and frustrated because I wasn't able to kill everyone.

Then I played Shrek 2, Tarzan, and when finally my parents purchased me a computer, I had a lot of games to play like Gothic 1 & 2, Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow and Need for Speed Most Wanted (the...2005? version of the game) and all kind of other games.

Mario (the classic version) was also really fun, I had the pleasure to try some TMNT games at some friend's house, same with Robocop, Contra, and others like that.

Video games, among other things, made my childhood fun, and I will never look at video games like a way of wasting time, more like a fun time to spend it.

I loved turtles in time so much, that game is amazing. XD